Two local authors release new must-read novels

On a book tour, they are the authors — with their shiny new novels, radiating the word “published!” to all the awestruck novices. But here, they live across the bridge and over the fields — they are all that and more; they are our neighbors. Isn’t that wonderful?

Engage with writing, music and movement in free community programs at THT

Middlebury’s Town Hall Theater will host three free programs next month that you don’t want to miss. Composer Mathew Evan Taylor and choreographer Laurel Jenkins will present “27 Breaths,” a live music and movement piece on Sunday, May 5; former dean of t … (read more)

Barbie honors Alvarez with a doll in her likeness

WEYBRIDGE — When Mattel was looking to make over its iconic Barbie doll it decided to shine a light on empowering role models past and present in an effort to inspire young girls. As a key part of the toy company’s Dream Gap Project it is introducing girl … (read more)

Barbie honors Alvarez with a doll in her likeness

WEYBRIDGE — When Mattel was looking to make over its iconic Barbie doll it decided to shine a light on empowering role models past and present in an effort to inspire young girls. As a key part of the toy company’s Dream Gap Project it is introducing girl … (read more)

Weybridge writers have more fun with haikus

“Life during the COVID epidemic,” the theme of Weybridge’s Third Annual Haiku Competition, attracted 178 wide-ranging reflections from 28 writers across Vermont and several states. “We need to be nurturing our spirits as well as our bodies in this difficu … (read more)

Letter to the editor: Alvarez book a ‘tour de force’

Everyone simply must read the new book from Julia Alvarez, “Afterlife.” It is stunning. It also happens to be set mostly in Middlebury, and mentions all kinds of local organizations — the Open Door Clinic, Shaw’s, Champlain Valley Equipment, etc. The nove … (read more)

Book review: Afterlife — by Julia Alvarez

(Algonquin Books) At long last, the wait is over because readers who loved “In the Time of the Butterflies” and “How the Garcia Girls Lost Their Accents” finally have a new novel by Middlebury’s own Julia Alvarez. Antonia Vega is a retired professor of li … (read more)

Haiku contest unites Weybridge residents

WEYBRIDGE — Weybridge haiku test draws a lot of good entries applaud the winners The above haiku wouldn’t win a prize, but far better ones did at the Second Annual Weybridge Haiku Contest, a celebration of community spirit through the traditional Japanese … (read more)