Boys’ hoop players named league stars

ADDISON COUNTY — Nine members of the Mount Abraham, Vergennes, Middlebury and Otter Valley union high school boys’ basketball teams received postseason recognition from either the Lake Division or the Southern Valley League’s B Division.

At the top of the list was Eagle senior and team leading scorer Henry Cogswell, whom the Lake Division coaches chose as the League’s Player of the Year.

Joining Cogswell on the Lake First Team was Commodore sophomore Tyler Bergmans. Bergmans was also named to the Vermont basketball coaches’ Dream Dozen of outstanding underclassmen Division III and IV players.

OV Senior Elijah Tucker-Bryant earned a berth on the SVL B Division First Team.

Chosen for the Lake Second Team were Commodore senior Tim Ashley, Eagle junior Chance Denecker, and Tiger junior Penn Riney.

Earning Honorable Mention from the Lake were Eagle junior Gavin Bannister and Tiger junior Willem Berry. Otter senior Hayden Bernhardt earned an SVL B Division Honorable Mention.

Cogswell, Ashley and Tucker-Bryant were also selected to play in the North-South All-Star games on March 19 at Champlain Valley Union.

Share this story:

More News

OV boys ground Eagles in D-II match

There were good reasons to expect a competitive first-round Division II boys’ basketball p … (read more)


Enosburg benefits from MUHS girls’ off night

The Middlebury Union High School girls’ basketball team had only one win to show for its i … (read more)


Women’s hoop advances in postseason

MIDDLEBURY — The fourth-seeded Middlebury College women’s basketball pulled away from visi … (read more)

Share this story: