Vermont minimum wage rises to $10 per hour
MONTPELIER — Vermont’s minimum wage increased from $9.60 to $10 per hour on Jan. 1 in accordance with legislation passed by the Legislature and signed by Gov. Peter Shumlin in June 2014. The tipped-employee minimum wage also increased on Jan. 1, to $5 per hour.
Vermont’s minimum wage will increase in January 2018 to $10.50 per hour, and statutory provisions to track the CPI-U inflation rate are set to resume in 2019.
“Vermont has been a leader in enacting a state minimum wage that helps workers attain greater economic stability. Giving a boost to hard-working Vermonters is the right thing to do, and is good for Vermont’s economy,” Gov. Shumlin said in a press release.
“It is estimated that the increase will benefit up to 30,000 Vermont workers,” Labor Commissioner Annie Noonan said. “The fact that the federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour has not been raised in eight years, makes Vermont’s minimum wage even more important for our working families.”
RIPTON — The memorial service in celebration of the life of Rev. Wayne Alfred Holsman, 87, … (read more)
See when your favorite high school team is competing in the fall sports playoffs.