Stone earns Devil’s Bowl, Vermont crowns

WEST HAVEN — Middlebury driver Todd Stone clinched both his second straight Devil’s Bowl Speedway track title and NASCAR Vermont state championship on Sunday with two fourth-place finishes in the track’s top Bond Auto Parts Modified division. Sunday’s race card concluded the West Haven track’s asphalt track season.
The results gave Stone a total of 938 points in the Devil’s Bowl series, 40 points better than New York driver Leon Gonyo. Stone edged Fletcher’s Joey Roberts by 12 points, 392-380, for the NASCAR state title.
Also earning a track title was Addison’s Chuck Bradford, a first-time series winner in the Central Vermont Motorcycles Mini Stock division. Bristol’s Josh Masterson finished second in the Late Model Championship Series, just 11 points behind Shelburne’s Jamie Fisher.
Milton’s Robert Gordon won his second straight title in the intermediate Renegade class.
The headline Bond Auto Parts Modified division ran two 50-lap feature races to close its season, and saw very different outcomes. Former track champion Ron Proctor, 62, led wire-to-wire to win the opening race, while 19-year-old New Yorker Jessey Mueller took the second event.
New York veteran Proctor outran a three-way battle for the runner-up spot during his run. Gonyo squeaked out second ahead of Mueller and Stone.
Mueller broke free from the pack in the second race and collected his fourth Devil’s Bowl victory of the season and 10th overall at tracks across the Northeast. Nick Heywood finished second to help pad his lead in the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series national rookie standings. Roberts finished third ahead of Stone and Gonyo.
Stone’s pair of fourth-place finishes were enough to collect his second consecutive Devil’s Bowl and NASCAR Vermont State championships. Billy Lussier of Fair Haven clinched the Devil’s Bowl Speedway Rookie of the Year title, and Jason Durgan of New York took rookie honors in the NASCAR Vermont standings.
Trampas Demers of South Burlington earned his first Devil’s Bowl Speedway victory in the 100-lap finale for the Late Model division and the four-race Vermont State Late Model Championship Series. Demers cruised for much of the race, but held off a furious charge by Brandon Atkins, Bobby Therrien, and Nick Sweet over the final 10 laps. Therrien fell about six feet shy at the finish line. Sweet, of Barre, finished third to wrap up his second Vermont State Championship.
Late Model point leader Fisher of Shelburne finished 12th, but was fortunate to have his championship rivals — Masterson and Emily Packard — suffer a similar fate. Packard was 10th, followed by Masterson in 11th, and Fisher held on to win the track title. Masterson took second overall in a tiebreaker with Packard, based on his four feature wins to Packard’s three.
Gordon put an exclamation point on his dominant season in the Renegade class with his sixth feature victory of the year. A pair of 15-year-olds, Richard Lowrey III and Dylan Rabtoy, finished second and third overall, respectively. Ray Germain Jr. of Bristol was fourth.
Chris LaVair of New York posted his third victory of the season in the two-segment feature for the Central Vermont Motorcycles Mini Stock division. LaVair finished second in the opening 15-lap segment and won the final leg.
Bradford won the first round and finished third in the second half to end up as the runner-up and easily outdistanced Jake Noble for the track championship. Noble finished third in the race.
Devil’s Bowl Speedway now switches over to its new infield dirt track for the three-race “Battle at the Bowl” series, opening on Sept. 26. Sportsman Modifieds will headline the program with a 50-lap race, and will be joined by Pro Stocks, eight-cylinder Street Stocks, and four-cylinder Mini Stocks. More information will be announced in the coming days.
Sunday’s winners and local drivers’ results were:
•  Bond Auto Parts Modified Feature No. 1 (50 laps):1.Proctor;4.Stone; 6.Vince Quenneville Jr., Brandon;14.Dave Snow, Brandon.
•  Bond Auto Parts Modified Feature No. 2 (50 laps):1.Mueller;4.Stone;8.Quenneville; 23.Snow.
•  Late Model Feature (100 laps):1.Demers; 11.Masterson; 15.Jamie Aube, Ferrisburgh.
•  Renegade Feature (20 laps x 2): 1.Gordon; 4. Germain;
•  Central Vermont Motorcycles Mini Stock Feature (15 laps x 2):1.LaVair; 2. Bradford;9.Lance Masterson, Lincoln.
•  Enduro Series (50 laps):1. Shawn Fountain, Plattsburgh;12.Bradford;14.Trevor Sampson, Addison;24.Ed Shackett Sr., Middlebury.
•  Bond Auto Parts Modified Shootout (10 laps): 1. Jamie LaFountain, Plattsburgh; 5. Snow.
•  Late Model Shootout (10 laps):1. Rich Lowrey Jr., Charlotte; 2. Aube;
•  Renegade Shootout (10 laps): 1.Jim McKiernan, Moriah Center; 4. Germain.
•  Central Vermont Motorcycles Mini Stock Shootout (10 laps):1.Harold LaVair Jr., Gabriels; 4.Lance Masterson.

Share this story:

More News

Bernard D. Kimball, 76, of Middlebury

MIDDLEBURY — Bernard D. Kimball, 76, passed away in Bennington Hospital on Jan. 10, 2023. … (read more)

News Uncategorized

Fresh Air Fund youths returning to county

The Fresh Air Fund, initiated in 1877 to give kids from New York City the opportunity to e … (read more)

Obituaries Uncategorized

Mark A. Nelson of Bristol

BRISTOL — A memorial service for Mark A. Nelson of Bristol will be held 1 p.m. on Saturday … (read more)

Share this story: