Local state reps. to head Vt. House commitees

MONTPELIER — Leaders in the Vermont House of Representatives on Wednesday announced committee assignments for the 2021-22 Legislative session.
Rep. Diane Lanpher, D-Vergennes, will serve the next biennium as chair of the House Transportation Committee, while Rep. Amy Sheldon, D-Middlebury, will continue to lead the House Natural Resources, Fish & Wildlife Committee.
Lanpher, one of the county’s most veteran lawmakers, has served in the House since 2009. She’s spent most of her tenure on House Appropriations, but served on the Transportation Committee early in her legislative career.
Addison County also will maintain delegates on two key money committees. Rep. Robin Scheu, D-Middlebury — who last year served on the Ways & Means Committee — has been assigned to the Appropriations Committee, while Rep. Caleb Elder, D-Starksboro, will serve on Appropriations after having served his first term on the Education Committee.
Rep. Peter Conlon, D-Cornwall, has been named ranking member of the Education Committee.
Senate leadership had yet to confirm that chamber’s committee assignments as the Independent went to press Wednesday afternoon. Look for a more complete report of committee assignments in next week’s Independent.

Share this story:

More News
Homepage Featured News

Real estate market appears to be stabilizing

Brokers say demand is still strong, but higher interest rates can be a drag.

Education News

Principal leaving Bristol Elementary School

Less than a year on the job, the principal alerted the community that he would take a leav … (read more)


Locals help get clean water to a small town in Mexico

Some Addison County philanthropists and people of faith helped a Mexican town with links t … (read more)

Share this story: