Matt Bilodeau, Jimmy Ryan win races at Devil’s Bowl

WEST HAVEN — Veteran Shoreham driver Jimmy Ryan won the 30-lap main event this past Sunday at the Devil’s Bowl Speedway, while Brandon’s Matt Bilodeau also picked up a victory.
Ryan edged Middlebury’s Justin Comes in the Sportsman Modified Feature after pole-sitter Frank Hoard III led the opening 14 laps. Comes then took command, but soon Ryan and former track champions Bobby Hackel and Kenny Tremont Jr. all challenged.
Comes and Ryan finally dueled, and after two late restarts the pair swapped lanes and the lead several times before Ryan grabbed the 15th win of his Devil’s Bowl career, with Comes a close second. Comes gave Ryan a thumbs-up as he drove past Victory Lane. Hackel, Tremont and Hoard completed the top five in order.  
Brandon’s Bilodeau became a first-time winner in the Limited Sportsman division by taking a hard-fought 20-lap feature.  Bilodeau stalked leader Marty Hutchins for the first half of the race before making his move, then held off Johnny Bruno and Hutchins for his maiden victory.
Two-time defending Super Stock champion Chris Murray scored his first win of the season in a 20-lap runaway in that division. The Fair Haven driver took the lead at the halfway mark. Orwell’s Garrett Given crossed the finish line in second.
New York driver P.J. Bleau took the victory in a 15-lap feature in the Mini Stock division. Bleau’s battle with Milton’s Shawn Moquin was close for most of the race before Bleau pulled away for the win. Moquin took second, and Panton’s Mike Preston was third.
Defending champion Cody O’Brien of Springfield took his first win of the season in the 500cc Mini Sprint division, with Rutland’s John McPhee in second.
The winners and local finishers were:
•Modified Feature (30 laps): 1. Ryan, Shoreham; 2. Comes, Middlebury; 11. Joey Scarborough, Brandon; 13. Tim LaDuc, Orwell; 14. Vince Quenneville Jr., Brandon; 21. Brent Warren, Salisbury; 28. Mike Palmer, Salisbury.
•Limited Sportsman Feature (20 laps): 1. Bilodeau, Brandon; 4. James Hanson, Orwell; 6. Adam Piper, Leicester; 7. Austin Comes, Middlebury; 12. Dave Snow, Brandon; 13. Anthony Warren, Shoreham.
•Super Stock Feature (20 laps): 1. Murray, Fair Haven; 2. Given, Orwell; 12. Kaleb Shepard, Vergennes; 13. Ronnie Alger, Orwell.
•Mini Stock Feature (15 laps): 1. Bleau, Latham, N.Y.; 3. Preston, Panton; 5. Jake Barrows, Middlebury; 12. Scott Cowdrey, Leicester.
•500cc Mini Sprint Feature (15 laps): 1. O’Brien, Springfield; 8. Alyza McKeighan, Brandon; 11. Kevin Smith, Brandon.

Share this story:

More News
News Uncategorized

Fresh Air Fund youths returning to county

The Fresh Air Fund, initiated in 1877 to give kids from New York City the opportunity to e … (read more)

Obituaries Uncategorized

Mark A. Nelson of Bristol

BRISTOL — A memorial service for Mark A. Nelson of Bristol will be held 1 p.m. on Saturday … (read more)

Sports Uncategorized

High school athletes ready for fall playoffs this week

See when your favorite high school team is competing in the fall sports playoffs.

Share this story: