Lacey Hanson is a winner at Devil’s Bowl

WEST HAVEN  — Orwell’s Lacey Hanson was among the winners as Devil’s Bowl Speedway opened this past Sunday.
Hanson picked up her sixth career win on the Sprint Cars of New England (SCoNE) tour. She took the lead on the second circuit of the 25-lap race and held off a late charge from second-place finisher Adam Pierson.
New York driver Bobby Hackel prevailed in the main event, outdueling 42 drivers in the 50-lap Memorial Day Kickoff. Hackel, a former Devil’s Bowl Speedway track champion, led most of the feature race, but he had anything but an easy path to victory. Several restarts kept Hackel honest all race long, and veteran Orwell driver Tim LaDuc twice took the lead before Hackel took over in the final 10 laps.
LaDuc’s engine exploded in the final corner coming to the checkered flag, and he was awarded 10th. Salisbury’s Brent Warren and Brandon’s Vince Quenneville Jr. were seventh and eighth, respectively. 
Mike Ryan of Chelsea claimed the 20-lap Limited Sportsman feature. Leicester’s Adam Piper was fourth.
Bill Duprey of Hydeville inherited the 51st win of his Devil’s Bowl career in the Super Stock division. Cornwall’s Garrett Given dominated the 20-lap feature, but was found with an unapproved carburetor in the inspection line and was disqualified. 
Shawn Moquin of Milton led every step of the 15-lap Mini Stock feature. Middlebury’s Jake Barrows took fourth in that event.
Twin brothers Shawn and John McPhee of Rutland ran 1-2 in the 15-lap Mini Sprint division, with Brandon’s Kevin Smith in third place.
The winners and local finishers were:
•King of Dirt Racing Crate Modified Series Feature (50 laps): 1. Hackel, N.Y.; 7. Warren, Salisbury; 8. Quenneville, Brandon; 10. LaDuc, Orwell; 15. Justin Comes, Middlebury; 24. Jimmy Ryan, Shoreham; 25. Joey Scarborough, Brandon; 28. Mike Palmer, Salisbury.
•Sprint Cars of New England Feature (25 laps): 1. Hanson, Orwell.
•Limited Sportsman Feature (20 laps): 1. Ryan, Chelsea; 4. Piper, Leicester; 6. James Hanson, Orwell; 8. Austin Comes, Middlebury; 9. Anthony Warren, Shoreham; 15. Dave Snow, Brandon.
•Super Stock Feature (20 laps): 1. Duprey, Hydeville; 9. Ronnie Alger, Orwell.
•Mini Stock Feature (15 laps): 1. Moquin, Milton; 4. Barrows, Middlebury.
•500cc Mini Sprint Feature (15 laps): 1. McPhee, Rutland; 3. Smith, Brandon; 8. Alyza McKeighan, Brandon.

Share this story:

More News

Bernard D. Kimball, 76, of Middlebury

MIDDLEBURY — Bernard D. Kimball, 76, passed away in Bennington Hospital on Jan. 10, 2023. … (read more)

News Uncategorized

Fresh Air Fund youths returning to county

The Fresh Air Fund, initiated in 1877 to give kids from New York City the opportunity to e … (read more)

Obituaries Uncategorized

Mark A. Nelson of Bristol

BRISTOL — A memorial service for Mark A. Nelson of Bristol will be held 1 p.m. on Saturday … (read more)

Share this story: