Area drivers clinch Devil’s Bowl titles

WEST HAVEN — It was a big night for Addison County drivers at Devil’s Bowl Speedway on Sunday as the track hosted its Championship Night finale. Orwell’s Tim LaDuc won the Sportsman Modified feature, while Salisbury’s Brent Warren and Vergennes racer Kaleb Shepard each nailed down 2018 track titles.
Warren finished eighth in a Limited Sportsman event, just good enough to claim the series title. Shepard was fourth in a Mini Stock race and cruised to the crown in that series.
LaDuc dominated a 30-lap race in the Central Vermont Motorcycles Sportsman Modified division of the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series. LaDuc took the lead on lap 11 and drove away for his second win of the season and the 52nd of his career at Devil’s Bowl.
LaDuc finished second behind New York driver Kenny Tremont Jr. in the series standings, with Brandon’s Joey Scarborough in third after finishing in 14th in the race.
Brandon’s Jake Scarborough finished second in Sunday’s race; Brandon’s Vince Quenneville Jr. took sixth; and Middlebury’s Justin Comes was seventh.
KALEB SHEPARD OF Vergennes won his first Devil’s Bowl Speedway track championship in the Portland Glass Mini Stock division Sunday. Photo by Alan Ward
New York’s Paolo Pascarella won a 20-lap finale in the O’Reilly Auto Parts Limited Sportsman division, his third victory of the season. Shoreham’s Anthony Warren finished fourth.
Salisbury’s Brent Warren narrowly won the Limited Sportsman title after an eighth-place finish. Warren took the track championship by five points over New York’s Travis Billington and 10 points over Pascarella.
New York driver P.J. Bleau won his second straight Portland Glass Mini Stock event. Cornwall’s Jake Barrows finished fifth, one spot behind Shepard.
Shepard scored five victories during a breakout season and also finished third in NASCAR Division IV national standings.  Milton’s Shawn Moquin was the runner-up in the track standings, followed by Panton’s Mike Preston in third.
West Rutland’s Andrew FitzGerald earned the first win of his Super Stock career in the division’s 20-lap feature, while his father, Scott Fitzgerald, finished second. Chris Murray of Fair Haven was third and coasted to the track title, having won 10 of his 19 starts. Orwell’s Ronnie Alger was ninth in the race.
New York’s Dakota Green drove to his second win of the season in the Friend Construction 500cc Mini Sprint division’s 15-lap race. Springfield’s Cody O’Brien, 13, finished third to clinch the division title and become the youngest title winner in Devil’s Bowl history. Brandon’s Kevin Smith was fifth in the race.
Richie Turner of Highgate prevailed in the Enduro 200. Turner led all but three laps. Bradley Disorda of Leicester finished 11th in the 33-car field for the top local result.

Share this story:

More News
US Probation Office Uncategorized

US Probation Office Request for Proposals

US Probation Office 2×1.5 062024 RFP

Middlebury American Legion Uncategorized

Middlebury American Legion Annual Meeting

Middlebury American Legion 062024 1×1.5 Annual Meeting

Sports Uncategorized

MAV girls’ lax nets two triumphs

The Mount Abraham-Vergennes cooperative girls’ lacrosse team moved over .500 with a pair o … (read more)

Share this story: