MONKTON — After lively discussion over several articles, Monkton residents passed as proposed all articles that were voted on the floor of town meeting Saturday morning. This is Monkton’s second year holding town meeting on Saturday, with voting for town officers and the school budgets taking place by Australian ballot on Town Meeting Day.
Citizens approved $1,398,132 in overall town spending, including:
•  $887,716 for highway expenses.
•  $320,265 for salaries and general expenses.
•  $60,000 toward the Tax Stabilization Fund.
•  $35,000 for the Agricultural and Natural Areas Fund.
•  $30,000 for the Highway Capital Equipment Fund.
•  $23,650 for the Russell Memorial Library.
Voters also approved the creation of a new Reserve Fund, beginning with $40,000 this year, to go toward building a new town hall. Discussion around this article also included the creation of a building committee that would investigate the need for new structures and possibly consider options for design, placement and construction.
Voters also approved a spending limit of $185,000 for a new tandem dump truck equipped for winter road maintenance, with funds to be taken from the Highway Capital Equipment Fund.
Toward the close of town meeting Saturday, the gathering recognized Wayne Preston, Bruce Cassidy and Thea Gaudette for their extensive service to the town. Preston recently retired after 43 years as Monkton’s road commissioner. Cassidy recently retired after working on the road crew since 1994. Gaudette has served Monkton on the Development Review Board, Planning Commission, Addison County Regional Planning Commission and on the Transportation Advisory Council and was twice awarded the ACRPC’s Bertha Hanson Distinguished Service Award.
Voting on Town Meeting Day by Australian ballot, Monkton voters approved the $2,653,500 Monkton Central School budget, 193-139. Voters throughout the five towns, including Monkton, approved the $12,261,839 Mount Abraham Union High School spending plan, 1,333 to 796, with ballots from the five towns that sent students to Mount Abe commingled.
There were no contested elections on this year’s ballot.
Incumbents returned to office include Sharon Gomez, town clerk; William Joos, town treasurer and delinquent tax collector; John McNerney and Anne Layn, selectboard; Marikate Kelley and Kristin Blanchette, school board.
Elected for the first time were John C. Brace to the planning commission and Melanie Cote and Jo-Anne Wisniowski as Russell Memorial Library trustees.
Still unfilled are one position for Monkton Central School director and positions for grand juror and town agent.

Share this story:

More News
US Probation Office Uncategorized

US Probation Office Request for Proposals

US Probation Office 2×1.5 062024 RFP

Middlebury American Legion Uncategorized

Middlebury American Legion Annual Meeting

Middlebury American Legion 062024 1×1.5 Annual Meeting

Sports Uncategorized

MAV girls’ lax nets two triumphs

The Mount Abraham-Vergennes cooperative girls’ lacrosse team moved over .500 with a pair o … (read more)

Share this story: