Football athletes earn league recognition

ADDISON COUNTY — Twelve Middlebury, five Mount Abraham/Vergennes, and eight Otter Valley union high school football players earned Division I, II or III postseason honors, respectively, from their league coaches.
In D-I, two Tigers earned first-team mention, Trey Kaufmann as a linebacker and Andrew Gleason as a defensive back.
The other picks were:
•  Offensive Line:  Jaro Perera, Second Team, and Nathan Warren, Honorable Mention.
•  Tight End: Doug DeLorenzo, Honorable Mention.
•  Fullback: Spencer Carpenter, Honorable Mention.
•  Running Back: Kaufmann, Honorable Mention.
•  Kicker: DeLorenzo, Second Team.
•  Defensive End: DeLorenzo and Skyeler Devlin, Honorable Mention.
•  Defensive Line: Tyler Hotte and Maverick Payne, Second Team, and Patrick Messenger, Honorable Mention.
•  Defensive Back: Simon Fischer, Second Team, and Cody Pomainville, Honorable Mention.
In D-II, five Eagles earned Honorable Mention:
•  Running Back: Casey Kimball.
•  Offensive Line: Cyrus Devine.
•  Defensive Line: Josh Roscoe.
•  Linebacker: Devon Kimball.
•  Punter: Coleman Russell.
Greg Whitney highlighted the OV contingent on the D-III all-star team by being named a first-team offensive and defensive lineman.
Also named a first-team D-III all-star was Brent Nickerson as a running back, Tyson Cram as a wide receiver, Eric Sherman as an offensive lineman, and Will Ross as a tight end.
The rest of OV’s recognition consisted of: 
•  Quarterback: Tyler Rowe, Honorable Mention
•  Defensive back: Cram and Ross, Honorable Mention.
•  Linebacker: Nickerson, Second Team, and Collin Parker, Honorable Mention.
•  Defensive line: Jeremy Frasier, Second Team.
•  Kick Returner: Cram, Honorable Mention.

Share this story:

No items found
Share this story: