Town Meeting Recap 2015: Ripton

RIPTON — Ripton residents at their town meeting re-elected Selectman Ronald Wimett in the lone contested race on the ballot and approved all of the money items they were presented.
Wimett won election to a three-year term over challenger Perry Hanson by a 64 to 49 tally.
Residents passed fiscal year 2016 budgets of $294,100 and $282,900, respectively, for highway and general services.
Also endorsed were articles asking that the town clerk and treasurer’s positions be elected on an annual basis, beginning on March 1, 2016.
Ripton residents passed, by voice vote, a 2015-2016 elementary school spending plan of $905,614, which represents a 1.25-percent boost compared to this year. They also OK’d a combined total of $16,832 for various Addison County social service organizations.
Elected without opposition on Tuesday were Tim Hanson, for one year, as town moderator; Kathleen Sullivan, one year, as delinquent tax collector; Beth Eliason, one year, as cemetery commissioner; and Carol Ford and Perry Hanson for terms of three years and two years, respectively, on the Ripton Elementary School board.
Records show that 118 (28 percent) of the town’s 424 registered voters showed up at the polls this year.

Share this story:

More News
Sports Uncategorized

MAV girls’ lax nets two triumphs

The Mount Abraham-Vergennes cooperative girls’ lacrosse team moved over .500 with a pair o … (read more)

Op/Ed Uncategorized

Hector Vila: The boundaries of education

There is a wide boundary between the teacher and the student, found most profoundly in col … (read more)

Naylor & Breen Uncategorized

Naylor & Breen Request for Proposals

Naylor and Breen 042524 2×4.5 OCCC RFP

Share this story: