Local selectboard races abound

MIDDLEBURY — Middlebury isn’t the only Addison Central Supervisory Union community that will feature some spirited local elections. A survey of the six surrounding towns with which Middlebury partners for school services shows some looming contests for selectboard, school board and other offices.
Candidates for local office had until the end of this past Monday, Jan. 30, in which to file nomination papers to get on their respective Town Meeting Day ballots.
As reported last week in the Addison Independent, the town of Middlebury features a five-candidate race for two three-year seats on the selectboard. The competitors for those two spots include incumbent Selectman Victor Nuovo, Selectwoman Susan Shashok, former Selectman Don Keeler, and past candidates Eric Murray and Brian Bauer.
Current Middlebury Development Review Board Chairman Gary Baker is running unopposed for a one-year term on the selectboard.
The only other contested race in Middlebury involves a five-year term on the Ilsley Public Library board of trustees. Residents Rebekah Irwin and David Weinstock are running for that spot.
Bridport voters will decide four contested races.
Earl Audet and Shirley Giard are vying for a two-year term on the selectboard. Incumbent Selectman Leonard Barrett is running unopposed for another three-year term on the board.
Incumbent Bridport Central School Director Keith Grier faces a challenge from Suzanne Buck for a three-year term.
Incumbent Town Treasurer Jo Clawson faces opposition from Julie Howlett for a one-year term, while incumbent First Constable Robert Anderson is in a race with Rick Coursey for a one-year term.
In Cornwall, Luke Jerome, Abi Sessions and Sean Stearns will square off for a one-year term on the Cornwall selectboard. The one year represents the balance of a term vacated by former Selectwoman Nancy Kemp.
Incumbent selectboard members Bruce Hiland and Judy Watts are unopposed for terms of three years and two years, respectively.
The lone contested race in Ripton will involve Chris Lacey and Laura McIntosh, who are running for the remaining two years of a term vacated by incumbent Connie Trudeau.
Incumbent Selectman Ron Wimett faces no competition in his bid another three-year term.
The ballot in Salisbury will feature two races.
Benjamin Fuller is challenging incumbent Selectwoman Martha Sullivan for a three-year term on the board.
Meanwhile, Lister Patti Romp is facing opposition from Martha Sullivan for a three-year term.
John Rouse is running unopposed for a two-year term on the Salisbury selectboard.
The lone race on Shoreham’s ballot is a three-way race for two one-year terms on the selectboard. The candidates are incumbent Selectmen Paul Saenger and Sandy Witherell Jr., as well as resident Mark Spitzner.
Incumbent Selectwoman Karen Shackett is unopposed for a three-year term on the board.
There will be no contested elections in Weybridge this year. Chris Bagley is running unopposed for a three-year term on the selectboard, while incumbent Selectman Peter James is re-upping for a two-year term.
Reporter John Flowers is at [email protected].

Share this story:

More News
Sports Uncategorized

MAV girls’ lax nets two triumphs

The Mount Abraham-Vergennes cooperative girls’ lacrosse team moved over .500 with a pair o … (read more)

Op/Ed Uncategorized

Hector Vila: The boundaries of education

There is a wide boundary between the teacher and the student, found most profoundly in col … (read more)

Naylor & Breen Uncategorized

Naylor & Breen Request for Proposals

Naylor and Breen 042524 2×4.5 OCCC RFP

Share this story: