House reps. receive their committee assignments

MONTPELIER — Most of Addison County’s delegates to the Vermont House will return to familiar committee rooms this biennium — with a few key exceptions.
The Vermont House leadership on Wednesday assigned:
•  Rep. Michael Fisher, D-Lincoln, to the Health Care Committee, as vice chairman. Fisher during the last biennium served as vice chairman of the Human Services Committee. Health care reform is shaping up as one of the hot-button issues the Legislature will face during the next two years.
•  Rep. Willem Jewett, D-Ripton, to the Government Operations Committee. Jewett previously served on the Judiciary Committee. His committee time will be limited this biennium given his recent election as assistant majority leader of the House.
•  Rep. Harvey Smith, R-New Haven, to the General, Housing and Military Affairs Committee. Smith is returning to the House after a four-year hiatus and previously served for many years on the House Agriculture Committee.
•  Rep. Paul Ralston, D-Middlebury, to the Commerce Committee. Ralston is a freshman lawmaker and owner/founder of Vermont Coffee.
•  Rep. David Sharpe, D-Bristol, back to the Ways and Means Committee, as ranking member.
•  Rep. Greg Clark, R-Vergennes, back on the Education Committee.
•  Rep. Will Stevens, I-Shoreham, back on the Agriculture Committee.
•  Rep. Diane Lanpher, D-Vergennes, back on the Transportation Committee.
•  Rep. Joe Acinapura, R-Brandon, back on the Appropriations Committee.
•  Rep. Betty Nuovo, D-Middlebury, back on the Natural Resources and Energy Committee.
“I find this committee challenging, exciting and dealing with important energy issues as well as the vitally important issue of decommissioning for Vermont Yankee,” Nuovo said of her assignment. “I am looking forward to working with the other members of this committee.”
The Vermont Senate was not scheduled to announce its committee appointments until this Friday or early next week. At that point constituents will know assignments for the Democratic senators representing Addison County and Brandon: Claire Ayer of Weybridge and Harold Giard of Bridport.
Reporter John Flowers is at [email protected].

Share this story:

No items found
Share this story: