Barrows picks up first win at Devil’s Bowl

WEST HAVEN — Middlebury’s Jake Barrows became a first-time winner at the Devil’s Bowl Speedway to highlight local drivers’ efforts on Sunday.
Barrows, a third-year racer, took the lead from Panton’s Mike Preston three laps into the 20-lap Mini Stock division race and left everyone behind with a convincing run. Milton’s Shawn Moquin finished second ahead of Winooski’s Craig Kirby in the event. 
In the main event, the annual “topless” race, New York driver Kenny Tremont Jr. picked up his third topless win in four years by prevailing in the 30-lap Pepsi Sportsman Modified feature. Tremont used the bottom, middle, and top grooves to slice through the field from his 16th starting position on the 29-car field.
Salisbury’s Mike Palmer paced the field from the pole position, but Tremont made his move on Palmer’s to take command at lap 14 and never looked back. East Corinth’s Adam Pierson came from the 19th starting position to finish second, and Bennington’s Hector Stratton drove from 11th to get past Palmer late in the race and take third, with Palmer settling for fourth. Middlebury’s Justin Comes moved up from 28th to finish fifth. 
Seventeen-year-old David Boisclair copped his first-ever Devil’s Bowl win in the 20-lap topless feature in the Limited Sportsman division. Leicester’s Adam Pipertook second, Brandon’s Matt Bilodeau finished third, and Orwell’s James Hanson was fourth.
West Rutland Driver Scott FitzGerald rebounded from an early multi-car crash to win the 20-lap Super Stock feature. Rutland’s Kevin Elliott and Andrew FitzGerald — the winner’s son — both recovered from the same crash to officially take second and third, respectively. Orwell’s Garrett Given was scored in fifth place; Given was the second car across the finish line but was penalized for failing to comply with an official directive during an early restart.
Thirteen-year-old rookie Evan Roberts was a first-time winner in the 500cc Mini Sprint division. The fourth-generation racer from Fletcher ran a smooth line in a rough-and-tumble race and escaped a full-contact body slam at lap 10 to keep control of his car. Due to excessive crashes and caution periods, and the race was cut short from 15 laps to 10; Roberts was in the lead at the time and is credited with the victory. 
The winners and local finishers were:
•Pepsi Sportsman Modified “Topless” Feature (30 laps): 1. Tremont; 4. Palmer, Salisbury; 5. Comes, Middlebury; 7. Vince Quenneville Jr., Brandon; 10. Jimmy Ryan, Shoreham; 11. Brent Warren, Salisbury; 12. Tim LaDuc, Orwell; 
•O’Reilly Auto Parts Limited Sportsman “Topless” Feature (20 laps): 1. Boisclair; 2. Piper, Leicester; 3. Bilodeau, Brandon; 4. Hanson, Orwell; 10. Dave Snow, Brandon; 15. Anthony Warren, Shoreham. 
•Super Stock Feature (20 laps): 1. FitzGerald, West Rutland; 5. Given, Orwell; 7. Ronnie Alger, Orwell.
•Mini Stock Feature (20 laps): 1. Barrows, Middlebury; 10. Mike Preston, Panton. 
•Friend Construction 500cc Mini Sprint Feature (15 laps – shortened to 10 laps by time limit): 1. Roberts, Fletcher; 4. Kevin Smith, Brandon; 6. Alyza McKeighan, Brandon. 

Share this story:

More News
Sports Uncategorized

MAV girls’ lax nets two triumphs

The Mount Abraham-Vergennes cooperative girls’ lacrosse team moved over .500 with a pair o … (read more)

Op/Ed Uncategorized

Hector Vila: The boundaries of education

There is a wide boundary between the teacher and the student, found most profoundly in col … (read more)

Naylor & Breen Uncategorized

Naylor & Breen Request for Proposals

Naylor and Breen 042524 2×4.5 OCCC RFP

Share this story: