ACSD schools to welcome new leaders next month

MIDDLEBURY — Next month will bring some significant leadership transitions at Addison Central School District schools.
Four of the ACSD’s seven elementary schools will greet new principals. Those schools are in Weybridge, Bridport, Cornwall and Middlebury.
Nicole Carter will take the helm of Weybridge Elementary, taking over for longtime Principal Christina Johnston. Addison Central Superintendent Peter Burrows provided more clarity on Johnston’s future destination in the district’s June newsletter, released last week:
“Although she is leaving ACSD, we will still be working with Christina as she takes on a new role at Middlebury College in the Education Studies Department,” Burrows wrote.
Efforts to secure a “farewell” interview with Johnston, who with 26 years of service was the most tenured of all ACSD principals, were unsuccessful.
Burrows also announced a new gig landed by Steve Lindemann, interim principal of Middlebury’s Mary Hogan Elementary School. Lindeman is going to be the new principal at Samuel Morey Elementary School in Fairlee.
Succeeding Lindemann at Mary Hogan will be Jen Kravitz, who’s finishing up her duties as leader of Cornwall’s Bingham Memorial School.
Lindemann begins a new chapter in his career after having spent two decades as an educator and administrator in the ACSD. He taught first at Weybridge Elementary, then at Ripton Elementary, before joining the Mary Hogan faculty. He was named Mary Hogan’s assistant principal in 2013, then became its interim principal last summer when top administrator Tom Buzzell took a job at Bristol Elementary School.
Lindemann chose not to apply for the Mary Hogan principalship, saying he felt it was time for the school to have new leadership. He learned around two weeks ago that’s he’d landed his new job.
“It still hasn’t sunk in, because I’ve been trying to make sure the transition to Jen Kravitz is as smooth as possible,” said Lindemann, who prior to his move to Vermont worked in the Dominican Republic with minor league baseball players in the Los Angeles Dodgers organization.
“It has been an honor and privilege to work in the schools of three (ACSD) towns,” Lindemann said.
He added he believes his experiences in the three ACSD schools gave him a great perspective on the district as a whole, saying the experience is “something I will always cherish.”
In other ACSD leadership changes previously reported by the Independent:
•Matthew Brankman will take the helm of Bridport Central School, replacing Principal Jennefer Paquette.
•Heather Raabe will replace Jen Kravitz as principal at the Bingham Memorial School in Cornwall.
•Michaela Wisell has been hired as assistant principal at Mary Hogan Elementary.
“We’re very fortunate to have an exceptional group of administrators joining the ACSD and look forward to working with them during this upcoming school year,” Burrows said.
Reporter John Flowers is at [email protected].

Share this story:

More News
News Uncategorized

Fresh Air Fund youths returning to county

The Fresh Air Fund, initiated in 1877 to give kids from New York City the opportunity to e … (read more)

Obituaries Uncategorized

Mark A. Nelson of Bristol

BRISTOL — A memorial service for Mark A. Nelson of Bristol will be held 1 p.m. on Saturday … (read more)

Sports Uncategorized

High school athletes ready for fall playoffs this week

See when your favorite high school team is competing in the fall sports playoffs.

Share this story: