Residents picked to serve in Ferrisburgh

FERRISBURGH — The Ferrisburgh selectboard at its April 2 meeting made a series of appointments to local boards. It had two candidates to choose from for two of the jobs — representing Ferrisburgh on the Addison Northwest School District (ANWSD) and Addison County Solid Waste Management District (ACSWMD)  boards.
Selectboard Chairman Rick Ebel said the board was pleased to see the interest in serving the community, even if choices were difficult.
“It’s a good problem to have. The tough thing was we had to make decisions,” Ebel said.
The choice for ANWSD board member was between former multi-term Ferrisburgh Central School board member Bill Clark and retired Vermont State Police officer Chris Campbell, who Ebel said has children in the ANWSD system and is “highly engaged” in the local schools.
Ebel told the Independent both candidates made compelling cases, and the board recessed to meet behind closed doors before opting for Campbell, 4-1. Ebel said he, Jim Benoit, Clark Hinsdale and Red Muir voted for Bill Clark, with the previous board experience one reason. Jessica James cast the vote for Campbell.
Afterward, Ebel said and board minutes reflect board members’ hope that Campbell will seek office in the future.
“We were asking, ‘Why can’t we have two positions, because these guys are both great,’” Ebel said, adding, “Hopefully he will be engaged in some other capacity.”
The ANWSD board formally approved Clark’s appointment on Monday.
The board ended up similarly split on the choice for ACSWMD representative. Board members interviewed both incumbent Steve Huffaker and another resident who expressed interest, David Olson.
According to minutes, after discussion, Ebel, Hinsdale, James and Muir voted for Huffaker, with Benoit opposed. However, the board unanimously approved Olson as an alternate representative to the solid waste district.
Other appointments included:
•Zoning Board of Adjustment. Bob Beach and John Paul were reappointed, and Hinsdale, elected in March to the selectboard stepped down.
The selectboard interviewed two candidates to replace Hinsdale — Kristin DeBellis and Nick Thomann — but a third candidate, Katie Quinn, could not make the meeting. Zoning board chairman Norman Smith also noted that his board had interviewed DeBellis and Quinn, but not Thomann. The selectboard tabled the appointment until the final two interviews could be done.
Ebel this Monday again noted the multiple candidates.
“I hope we can keep up this level of engagement,” he said.
•Planning Commission. The selectboard reappointed Bessie Sessions and Mike Quinn, but one vacancy remains.
•Addison County Regional Planning Commission. The selectboard reappointed Tim Davis, Arabella Holzapfel and Huffaker as Ferrisburgh representatives to the ACRPC, and reappointed Huffaker to the ACRPC’s key Transportation Advisory Committee.
•Conservation Commission. The selectboard appointed Ron DeBellis and Jadziah Hannon-Moonstone to the Ferrisburgh Conservation Commission; one vacancy remains on that panel.
According to Town Clerk Gloria Warden this week, despite competition for some positions, others remain open above and beyond the planning and conservation vacancies. The town is seeking three alternates to the regional planning commission, three fence viewers, a first constable, two town auditors, a town agent, and a delinquent tax collector.
Those interested may send letters of interest to the Ferrisburgh Selectboard, c/o Ferrisburgh Town Clerk, 3279 Route 7, Ferrisburgh, VT 05456.

Share this story:

More News

Bernard D. Kimball, 76, of Middlebury

MIDDLEBURY — Bernard D. Kimball, 76, passed away in Bennington Hospital on Jan. 10, 2023. … (read more)

News Uncategorized

Fresh Air Fund youths returning to county

The Fresh Air Fund, initiated in 1877 to give kids from New York City the opportunity to e … (read more)

Obituaries Uncategorized

Mark A. Nelson of Bristol

BRISTOL — A memorial service for Mark A. Nelson of Bristol will be held 1 p.m. on Saturday … (read more)

Share this story: