Monkton Town Meeting results 2019

MONKTON — On Town Meeting Day Monkton voters re-elected selectboard members John McNerney (two-year term) and Marikate Kelley (three-year term), both of whom ran unopposed.
In two other uncontested elections, Sharon Gomez won another one-year term as town clerk and William Joos was re-elected to one-year terms as treasurer and delinquent tax collector.
Kristin Blanchette, unchallenged, won an open seat on the Mount Abraham Unified School District (MAUSD) board, for a three-year term.
Also on Town Meeting Day, Monkton voters, along with MAUSD voters from four other towns, approved a $30,950,235 budget for the coming school year, 1,140 to 1,127, with all ballots commingled. An additional article on the school ballot, requesting the creation of a Capital Reserve Fund, easily passed, 1,514 to 756.
MONKTON RECYCLING COORDINATOR Jessie Demeritt and 11-year-old daughter Evva Dicovitsky spread the word about recycling and try to sign up volunteers at the Monkton town meeting on Saturday.
Independent photo/Abagael Giles
At Saturday’s meeting at Monkton Central School, voters approved:
•  $906,172 in highway spending.
•  $357,431 for salaries and general expenses.
•  $199,082 for capital funds and voter appropriations, along with spending for the Monkton Fire Department and Russell Memorial Library.
•  Spending up to $146,000 on a tandem dump truck for winter road maintenance.
In a separate ballot article, Monkton voters recommended that the selectboard consider the viability of a Town Energy Fund.

Share this story:

More News
Sports Uncategorized

MAV girls’ lax nets two triumphs

The Mount Abraham-Vergennes cooperative girls’ lacrosse team moved over .500 with a pair o … (read more)

Op/Ed Uncategorized

Hector Vila: The boundaries of education

There is a wide boundary between the teacher and the student, found most profoundly in col … (read more)

Naylor & Breen Uncategorized

Naylor & Breen Request for Proposals

Naylor and Breen 042524 2×4.5 OCCC RFP

Share this story: