Whiting Town Meeting Preview 2019

WHITING — The Town Hall in Whiting will host town meeting on Tuesday, March 5, at 7:15 p.m. Among other things, voters will be asked to change the term of road commissioner from one year to three years.
Voters will also be asked to elect town officers.
Selectboard member Tara Trudo said in a post on the town website this month that she won’t seek re-election due to her increasingly busy family schedule.
“I would like to thank everyone for the opportunity to serve my community as a selectboard member over the past two years,” she wrote. “I encourage others who want to be more involved in their community to consider running for selectboard; it is a great group of people to work with and I am sure I will miss it.”
Incumbent officers seeking re-election include:
•  Road commissioner for 3 years, Paul Quesnel;
•  Selectboard member for three years;
•  Lister for three years, Elizabeth Curran;
•  Auditor for three years, Alison Remy;
•  Collector of delinquent taxes for one year, Rani Fallon;
•  Library trustee for three years, Heather Mattison; library trustee for two years, Jaime Quenneville; library trustee for two years Tara Trudo;
•  First Constable for one year, Michael Dame;
•  Town Agent for one year, Heather Bouchard.
Finally, the voters will be asked to approve appropriations of $369,677.50, of which $277,522.65 will come from taxes, for town expenses. That represents and increase of $30,685, or 8.3 percent, in spending, and an increase in $33,834, or 13.9 percent, in the amount needed in taxes. Town Clerk Gail Quenneville said the increases could be attributed to the first payment on the bond approved at last year’s town meeting to build a new town shed and fix the fire station.
Before the town meeting, voting on the Otter Valley Unified Union School District budget will take place by Australian ballot in the town hall from 7 a.m.-7 p.m. Ballots from all district towns will be taken to the Brandon Town Hall after polls close, commingled and counted by the Board of Civil Authority.
Voters in the school district will be asked to approve 2019-2020 spending of $19,935,847, which represents a 3.7 percent increase in total spending over last year. That is an increase of 2.08 percent per equalized pupil over the previous year.
The board will also ask voters to approve a safety, security and operations improvement bond not to exceed $2,934,000. The bond is for improvements at Lothrop Elementary, Neshobe Elementary and Otter Valley Union High School.
Residents in the six Otter Valley towns will vote on all eight school director positions regardless of which town they live in. There will be one contested school board election: Derek Larsen and Mike Lufkin are both running a three-year seat representing Brandon. Other school directors up for election will be Jon Rasmussen for a one-year seat in Brandon, Laurie Bertrand for a three-year seat in Sudbury, Bonnie M. Chmielewski for a three-year seat in Pittsford, Barbara Ebling for a three-year at-large seat, and two seats in Goshen are open but don’t have anyone on the ballot.

Share this story:

More News
News Uncategorized

Fresh Air Fund youths returning to county

The Fresh Air Fund, initiated in 1877 to give kids from New York City the opportunity to e … (read more)

Obituaries Uncategorized

Mark A. Nelson of Bristol

BRISTOL — A memorial service for Mark A. Nelson of Bristol will be held 1 p.m. on Saturday … (read more)

Sports Uncategorized

High school athletes ready for fall playoffs this week

See when your favorite high school team is competing in the fall sports playoffs.

Share this story: