MUHS to honor notable ’68 and ’93 football teams at halftime on Sept. 28

MIDDLEBURY — The MHS/MUHS Alumni Association will honor the 1968 and 1993 football teams at halftime of this year’s Middlebury Union High School Homecoming football game vs. Rutland on Friday, Sept. 28, at Doc Collins Field. The association will also induct two new members into its Hall of Fame (click here to read that story).
The 50-year team of 1968 went undefeated, going 8-0, and won the Division II title. Coached by Hubie Wagner, Mike Cummings and Chuck Martin, the Tigers prowled the goal posts rolling up 255 points while its stingy defense held opponents to 38 points. The defense led by Henry Forgues shutout opponents three times during the season.
The Tigers trailed South Burlington and then roared back with three touchdowns in two minutes to take the victory 41 to 6. This is the only time that they would trail all season. 
QB Peter Mackey had great protection all season, passing to favorite targets Jack Malzac, Jeff Gleason and Vin Fucile.  Tiger captains Jack Malzac and Ron Emilo led a strong senior class and finished as the only undefeated team in the state that year.
THE UNDEFEATED 1968 Middlebury Union High School football team won the Division II title.
Courtesy photo
The 1993 Tiger football team was the story of a squad on a comeback. After going 1 and 8 the previous year, the Tiger football team had nowhere to go but up when new coaches Peter Brakeley and Carl Ciemniewski brought a definite change in attitude. After losing their first and third games, the Tigers reeled off eight straight wins on their way to defeating Essex, 10-0, for the Vermont State Division I Championship.
The keys to the success of the season were the teams’ closeness and incredible Tiger pride. The offense was a finely tuned machine, at one point in the season averaging over 30 points per game. Behind the leadership of Matt Daly and the running of Stacy Burnham, Bob Sunderland, Ross Sheehan and Gordy McDonough, the Tiger offense ran over the other teams. The only way these backs got anywhere was the superb offense of line play of Pat Kieran, Amos Robinson, Jon Ramsey, Mike Barrett and Doug Connors. Carl Langfeldt and Darcy Trudeau played tight end, both catching a pass or two, while Obie English and Chan Perine played split and caught a few balls.
On the other side of the ball, the defense was anchored by a strong core of seniors, going three straight games without being scored upon. Ben Johnston and Aaron Volkert were solid linebackers; Arthur Payne anchored the defensive line at nose-guard, his brother Charles played right tackle and Brian “Lug” Cadoret was at left tackle. John Roleau also shared time at the tackle spot. The outside was protected by defensive ends Paul Gill and Ryan Aldrich. The secondary was led by safety Matt Daly and cornerback Chan Perine. Ken Moss and Casey O’Meara also played a big role in the stingy secondary.
Other team players who contributed to the successful season included Toby Rheaume, Matt Smith, Sam Berthiaume, Fred Dufrense, Brian Chicoine, Judd Mackey, Judd Larocque, and Cosmo Pfeil.

Share this story:

More News
Sports Uncategorized

MAV girls’ lax nets two triumphs

The Mount Abraham-Vergennes cooperative girls’ lacrosse team moved over .500 with a pair o … (read more)

Op/Ed Uncategorized

Hector Vila: The boundaries of education

There is a wide boundary between the teacher and the student, found most profoundly in col … (read more)

Naylor & Breen Uncategorized

Naylor & Breen Request for Proposals

Naylor and Breen 042524 2×4.5 OCCC RFP

Share this story: