Four area seniors recognized as Vt. Presidential Scholars

MONTPELIER — The Vermont Agency of Education on Jan. 8 recognized the state’s 2018 Presidential Scholar nominees in a ceremony at the Vermont Statehouse.
The Vermont Presidential Scholars Program recognizes graduating high school seniors who show outstanding scholarship, leadership and service to their communities. Twenty (10 male and 10 female) scholars are nominated in the general category, and five scholars are nominated in the Career and Technical Education category (CTE).
Four Addison County students were included in the list of nominees: Mason Charlebois of Vergennes Union High School, Gabriela Poalino of Otter Valley Union High School, Julian Schmitt of Middlebury Union High School, and Maxwell Williams of Otter Valley Union High School.
All Vermont scholars will be invited to apply to the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program, which will announce its winners in May 2018. Additional Vermont students may be chosen to apply by the U.S. Department of Education based on ACT and SAT scores. Each year, up to 161 students are named as national Presidential Scholars — one of the highest honors for high school students.
 “I am so proud to have these students representing Vermont as U.S. Presidential Scholar nominees,” Secretary Holcombe said. “Their exceptional academics and skills, as well as their personal leadership and service, are what set them apart.”

Share this story:

More News

Bernard D. Kimball, 76, of Middlebury

MIDDLEBURY — Bernard D. Kimball, 76, passed away in Bennington Hospital on Jan. 10, 2023. … (read more)

News Uncategorized

Fresh Air Fund youths returning to county

The Fresh Air Fund, initiated in 1877 to give kids from New York City the opportunity to e … (read more)

Obituaries Uncategorized

Mark A. Nelson of Bristol

BRISTOL — A memorial service for Mark A. Nelson of Bristol will be held 1 p.m. on Saturday … (read more)

Share this story: