Quenneville earns final asphalt track crown

WEST HAVEN — Brandon driver Vince Quenneville Jr. on Saturday clinched the final Devil’s Bowl Speedway asphalt track championship when he finished second behind Fair Haven’s Billy Lussier in the evening’s main event, the 40-lap Sportsman Modified “Leon Gonyo Memorial” Feature.
After eight years Devil’s Bowl will replace its asphalt track with a clay track during the offseason.
Lussier, a hometown favorite, capped his year by winning a five-car race that was full of passing, contact and drama. Fletcher’s Joey Roberts led 29 laps but had to deal with a slowly deflating tire and challenges from Lussier and New York driver Ron Proctor. Two spins by Mike Wells brought caution flags out, and Quenneville had to pit twice for a handling adjustment and a new right-rear tire.
Lussier took the lead on a three-wide move on lap 30 and held the lead the rest of the way. Quenneville filtered through the excitement to finish second while Wells rebounded for third ahead of Proctor and Roberts. Quenneville’s championship margin over runner-up Proctor was 14 points, 689-675.
“That race was the most fun I’ve had all year,” Quenneville said in victory lane. “We’re all sad to the asphalt go away because it’s a great race track, but that was an exciting way to finish it. We’re looking forward to the dirt to come back, but we’ll definitely miss the racing on this track. I’m proud to be the last champion.”
Devil’s Bowl veteran Robert Bryant Jr. of Brooklyn, Conn., won the 67-lap Late Model division race, but Mendon Seth Bridge had clinched the championship on Aug. 26. Jamie Aube of Ferrisburgh was third in the race, and Steve Miller of Vergennes was sixth.
New York’s Jim McKiernan and Swanton’s Dylan Rabtoy ran 1-2 in the 40-lap Super Stock Feature, but Rabtoy edged McKiernan by a point for the series championship. Bristol’s R.J. Germain was third in the race.
Highgate’s Cam Gadue won the 30-lap Mini Stock Feature, but fourth-place finisher Shawn Moquin earned the series title. Panton’s Mike Preston was fifth, and New Haven’s Kaleb Shepard finished eighth in the event.
Stephanie Roberts of Fletcher won the 12-lap season finale for the Ladies Mini Stock division. Bristol’s Sami Sargent was third.
Connor Watrous of Bomoseen took his third win of the year in the Bandit Youth Mini Stock division’s 12-lap run.  Watrous was a clear winner, leading every lap.  Evan Roberts finished second ahead of Tanner Lunt and Harley Rogers.

Share this story:

More News
Sports Uncategorized

MAV girls’ lax nets two triumphs

The Mount Abraham-Vergennes cooperative girls’ lacrosse team moved over .500 with a pair o … (read more)

Op/Ed Uncategorized

Hector Vila: The boundaries of education

There is a wide boundary between the teacher and the student, found most profoundly in col … (read more)

Naylor & Breen Uncategorized

Naylor & Breen Request for Proposals

Naylor and Breen 042524 2×4.5 OCCC RFP

Share this story: