Tiger runners highlight local effort at state cross country meet

THETFORD — The Middlebury Union High School girls’ cross-country team took third in Division II to highlight local efforts at Saturday’s Vermont Cross Country Championships at Thetford Academy.
The Tiger girls finished with 127 points, trailing only first-place Harwood, which dominated the 11-team field by scoring 21 points, and Montpelier (67). Vergennes scored 236 to take 10th, while Mount Abraham did not field a full team.
Senior Kate Oster took 15th to pace MUHS, and sophomore Kate Wallace was 24th. Senior Sadie Kass led VUHS by taking 35th, while the two Eagle runners, senior Delaynah Leavitt and junior Ally Hoff, were 48th and 58th, respectively.
On the boys’ side in D-II, the Tigers were fourth at 110, trailing U-32 (40), Harwood (51) and Montpelier (95). VUHS took eighth (233), and the Eagles were 11th (317).
Seniors Ross Crowne and Henry Ganey paced MUHS, taking 8th and 18th respectively, and all five Tiger scoring runners finished in the top 29. Sophomore Spencer Hurlburt took 31st for VUHS, and senior Will Aldrich finished 63rd to lead the Eagle contingent.
In D-III, the Otter Valley boys finished 12th in a 16-team field with 189 points, with sophomore Anthony Rovi leading the way in 27th. Rice (60) edged Bellows Falls (62) and Northfield (63) for the D-III title.
OV did not field a full girls’ team, but two OV girls ran: Kyla Dodge-Goshea, was 51st in 28:16.3, and Brittney Danforth was 66th in 33:31.
The local finishers in the D-II girls’ race were:
15. Kate Oster, MUHS, 22:44.3
24. Kate Wallace, MUHS, 23:43.9
26. Taylor Moulton, MUHS, 24:03.2
33. Sophie Morrison Marks, MUHS, 24:31.2
34. Mary Ann Eastman, MUHS, 24:36.6
35. Sadie Kass, VUHS, 24:39.7
40. Emma Beauchemin, VUHS, 24:51.4
41. Katherine Koehler, MUHS, 24:56.4
42. Indigo Woods, MUHS, 25:19.6
47. Ashley Cray, VUHS, 25:43.7
48. Delaynah Leavitt, Mt. Abe, 25:50.7
55. Sophia Parker, VUHS, 26:49.7
58. Ally Hoff, Mt. Abe, 27:18.1.
73. Anna Huppuch, VUHS, 30:26.3
The local finishers in the D-II boys’ race were:
8. Ross Crowne, MUHS, 17:57.7
18. Henry Ganey, MUHS, 18:26.6.
27. Daniel Wisell, MUHS, 19:11.5.
28. Nico Brayton, MUHS, 19:14.1.
29. Cade Christner, MUHS, 19:19.5.
31. Spencer Hurlburt, VUHS, 19:26.5.
33. Julian Schmitt, MUHS, 19:36.5.
38. Tobias Broucke, MUHS, 20:02.2.
41. Wade Mullin, VUHS, 20:15.3.
53. Erich Reitz, VUHS, 21:23.8.
60. Camden Bushey, VUHS, 21:41.4.
63. Will Aldrich, Mt. Abe, 21:46.8.
64. Brandon Cousino, VUHS, 21:48.6.
65. Aidan May, Mt. Abe, 22:15.7.
66. Andrew Raymond, Mt. Abe, 22:26.3.
71. Jude Bunch, Mt. Abe, 22:57.7.
75. Ben Praamsa, VUHS, 23:19.3.
76. Woods, VUHS, 23:56.4.
77. Ryan Adams, Mt. Abe, 24:09.9.
81. Brian Cousineau, Mt. Abe, 24:59.9.
85. Isaac Giles, Mt. Abe, 29:29.3.
The local finishers in the D-III boys’ race were:
27. Anthony Rovi, OV, 19:52.1.
42. Wesley Smith, OV, 19:25.7.
67. Hayden Gallo, OV, 21:43.6.
78. Zachary Scarborough, OV, 22:21.8.
105. Colby Smith, OV, 25:01.2.

Share this story:

No items found
Share this story: