Exercise your rights; vote on Election Day

Election Day arrives on Tuesday, Nov. 8. Vermonters will head to their polling places — most open at 7 a.m. and all of them close at 7 p.m.
For the first time, voting in Middlebury will time take place at the town’s new recreation facility on Creek Road.
Addison County poll watchers said early voting was very strong over the past few weeks, which is no surprise given the presidential election and competitive races for some statewide offices, most local House seats and Addison County’s two Senate seats.
In Bristol, New Haven, Starksboro, Lincoln and Monkton voters will cast ballots on a measure that, if approved, would unify governance among the six schools in the Addison Northeast school district. The move has been hotly debated.
What follows is a complete rundown of the local House, Senate and county races that will be in play this Tuesday, Nov. 8.
Two Democrats and one Progressive candidate are in the running for the two House seats representing Middlebury.
The two Democrats are Rep. Amy Sheldon, and Addison County Economic Development Corp. (ACEDC) Executive Director Robin Scheu.
Jill Charbonneau is running as a Progressive.
Cornwall Democrat Peter Conlon is the lone taker for the House seat representing Cornwall, Goshen, Hancock, Leicester, Ripton and Salisbury.
Four candidates are in the running for the two House seats representing Addison, Ferrisburgh, Panton, Vergennes and Waltham.
Two are incumbents —Reps. Diane Lanpher, D-Vergennes, and Rep. Warren Van Wyck, R-Ferrisburgh. They are facing opposition this year from Republican Monique Thurston and Democrat Fritz Langrock, both of Ferrisburgh.
Four hopefuls are competing for two seats representing the district that encompasses Bristol, Lincoln, Monkton and Starksboro. They include incumbent Reps. Dave Sharpe, D-Bristol and Fred Baser, R-Bristol, along with challengers Mari Cordes — a Lincoln Progressive and Democrat — and Monkton Republican Valerie Mullin.
Incumbent Rep. Harvey Smith, R-New Haven, is being challenged this year by Democrat Taborri Bruhl, also of New Haven, for the seat representing Bridport, New Haven and Weybridge.
Incumbent Rep. Alyson Eastman, I-Orwell, is again unopposed in her run for the seat that represents Benson, Orwell, Shoreham and Whiting.
State Senate
The race for the two state Senate seats representing Addison County, Huntington and Buel’s Gore will involve incumbent Democratic Sens. Claire Ayer of Addison and Chris Bray of New Haven, along with Republican challengers Peter Briggs of Addison and Lynn Dike of Bristol.
High bailiff
Four men are seeking the position of high bailiff, an elected county officer.
In the running are incumbent Republican Charles Clark Jr. of Middlebury, Democrat Ron Holmes of Middlebury, and independents Bruce Nason of Bristol and Mark Stacey of Leicester.
Statewide races have also garnered much attention. They are:
Incumbent Lt. Gov. Phil Scott, a Berlin Republican, and former Vermont Agency of Transportation Secretary Sue Minter, a Waterbury Democrat, are vying for the post soon to be vacated by Gov. Peter Shumlin, who is not running for re-election.
U.S. Senator
Incumbent Democrat Patrick Leahy has held his Senate seat since 1975. He faces opposition this year from Pomfret Republican Scott Milne.
U.S. House
Incumbent U.S. Rep. Peter Welch, a Norwich Democrat, is being challenged by Liberty Union candidate Erica Clawson.
Lieutenant governor
Former state Auditor, Senator and Middlebury College alum Randy Brock — a Swanton Republican — is competing with state Sen. Dave Zuckerman, a Hinesburg farmer who is on the ballot as both a Progressive and Democratic candidate.
Other contests on the ballot key involve:
•  Secretary of State, with Democratic incumbent Jim Condos facing opposition from Liberty Union candidate Mary Alice Herbert.
•  State Treasurer, with incumbent Democrat Beth Pearce facing opposition from Progressive Don Schramm and Liberty Union candidate Murray Ngoima.
•  Auditor of Accounts, with incumbent Democrat Doug Hoffer being opposed by Republican Dan Feliciano and Liberty Union candidate Marina Brown.
•  Attorney General, featuring a contest between longtime Chittenden County Prosecutor T.J. Donovan (Democrat), Republican Deborah Bucknam and Liberty Union candidate Rosemarie Jackowski.

Share this story:

No items found
Share this story: