VUHS students join National Honor Society

VERGENNES — Sixteen Vergennes Union High School students were inducted into the Otter Valley Chapter of the National Honor Society at a ceremony at VUHS on Thursday night.
The traditional candlelight induction ceremony was attended by parents, relatives, friends of inductees, teachers, administrators and school board members.
New members inducted from the Class of 2016 were Lathrop Brownell, Hailey Cray, Nora Hubbard, Julia Johnson, Tyler Kepes, Xavier Provencher and Kareena Vorsteveld.
Inducted from the Class of 2017 were Alyse Beauchemin, Charlotte Haigis, Caroline Johnston, Eva Kamman, Sadie Kass, Sophia Parker, Shay Pouliot, Maxwell Ratti-Bicknell and Megan Rooney.
Nathan Rowell, president of the Otter Valley Chapter and a VUHS senior, led the ceremony and administered the National Honor Society’s pledge to reaffirm the members’ commitment to the high standards of the honorary organization: scholarship, character, leadership and service to others.
The current National Honor Society members from the class of 2016 are Rowell, Jeb Hodsden (vice president), Emma Gardner (secretary) and Emily Martin (treasurer).
Addison Central School Principal and former VUHS French teacher Matthew DeBlois spoke at the ceremony, which was followed by a reception. 
SIXTEEN VUHS STUDENTS on Thursday joined four seniors who were already members of the Vergennes Union High School chapter of the National Honor Society. Those four were, left to right, president Nathan Rowell, secretary Emma Gardner, treasurer Emily Martin and vice-president Jeb Hodsden. Rowell led Thursday’s ceremony.
Photo courtesy of Roberta Steponaitis

Share this story:

No items found
Share this story: