Course hosts alumni golf tourney

MIDDLEBURY — This past Saturday and Sunday saw Ralph Myhre Golf Course host the annual Middlebury College Alumni Golf Tournament, an event held in honor 1949 college alumnus Gordon Perine.
Earning Meacham Plaques for individual low gross scores were John Giebink and Carolyn Perine (Gordon’s daughter-in-law).
The Riccio Cup winners for team low gross scores were David and James Coffrin on the men’s side and Jane Schoenfeld and Carolyn Perine on the women’s side. The Gordie Award for the over-55 team with the lowest gross also went to the Coffrins.
Makin Trophy winners for team low net scores went to John Hammond and Mike Clifford on the men’s side and Joan Uppendahl and Carol Donahue won the women’s side.
Harold Parker Awards for scores closest to stated handicaps went to Murphy McCurdy among the men and Mimi Tabah among the women.
The winners of The Panther Cup for the Inaugural Blue and White Scramble were Frank Punderson, Bruce Byers, Rick Makin and Dave Wagstaff.
In regularly scheduled Bill Davidson Thursday Afternoon Golf on Sept. 10, the trio of Greg Humphrey, Doug Biklen and Bernie Andrews came out on top.
Finishing second was the threesome of Ed Sommers, Frank Punderson and Fred Belanger, and the team of Pete Mulgrew, John Davis and Jim Twitchell was third.
Biklen was the low net winner, and Humphrey and Tom Maxwell prevailed in the Closest To The Pin competitions.
In upcoming events, on Saturday and Sunday, Middlebury College will hold its annual Duke Nelson Tournament. There will be a 1 p.m. shotgun start on Saturday and a 9 a.m. shotgun start on Sunday.
Tuesday at Ralph Myhre will be the Vermont Women’s State Golf Association’s Women’s State Day.  Tee Times will start at 8 a.m.

Share this story:

No items found
Share this story: