Bradford sets Devil’s Bowl record; Quenneville in race for crown

WEST HAVEN — Addison’s Chuck Bradford set a Devil’s Bowl Speedway asphalt-surface record with his sixth straight win on Friday. Devil’s Bowl’s half-mile track was resurfaced to asphalt in 2010.
Bradford claimed the 15-lap Portland Glass Mini Stock feature for the sixth straight time, breaking a tie with fellow Mini Stock racer Chris LaVair, who won five in a row earlier in the summer, and former Renegade racer Jon Miller, who set the mark in the track’s first year.
LaVair retains a comfortable lead over Bradford for the 2015 Mini-Stock track championship with one race to go, 697-653.
On Friday, Bradford reeled in John McCarron over the final laps to take the lead for the first time in the race with just two circuits remaining. McCarron settled for second place with LaVair third.
Other winners on Friday were Leon Gonyo, Bobby Therrien and Robert Gordon.
New York driver Gonyo coasted to his fourth Bond Auto Parts Modified victory of the year in the 30-lap main event. New York’s Ron Proctor finished second, with Brandon’s Vince Quenneville Jr. third. Whiting’s Jimmy Ryan took fifth. 
Proctor picked up a point in his duel with Quenneville for the track championship; he leads, 802-779, entering twin 50-lap features on Saturday.
Bobby Therrien of Hinesburg earned his second win of 2015 in the 30-lap Central Vermont Motorcycles Late Model feature. Walter Hammond of Canaan, N.H., took second. Middlebury’s Todd Stone took fourth, with Robert Bryant Jr. in fifth.
Josh Masterson of Bristol, who finished sixth, holds a 49-point lead over Bryant (658-609) entering the 100-lap finale on Saturday.
Robert Gordon of Milton led every circuit of the 15-lap Brileya’s Chrysler-Jeep Renegade feature to earn his seventh win of the season.
Friday’s winners and local finishers were:
• Bond Auto Parts Modified Feature (30 laps): 1. Gonyo; 3. Quenneville; 5. Ryan; 11. Dave Snow, Brandon.
• Central Vermont Motorcycles Late Model Feature (30 laps): 1. Therrien; 4. Stone; 6. Masterson; 8. Steve Miller, Vergennes.
• Brileya’s Chrysler-Jeep Renegade Feature (15 laps): 1. Gordon.
• Portland Glass Mini Stock Feature (15 laps): 1. Bradford; 8. Bradley Bertrand, Ferrisburgh. 

Share this story:

No items found
Share this story: