County’s northeast towns look for full election slates

BRISTOL — Local residents have until Monday to file the necessary paperwork to appear on the ballot for town offices or school boards, but ballots in each of the five towns that comprise the Addison Northeast Supervisory Union are already shaping up.
Anyone who wishes to run for a town or school office must submit a nominating petition at their town office by 5 p.m. on Monday, Jan. 26. Signatures from 1 percent of registered voters are required.
Voters will head to the polls on Town Meeting Day, March 3, to choose their representatives.
In Bristol, the most populous of the five towns, two seats are up for election on the selectboard. Incumbents John “Peeker” Heffernan and Joel Bouvier are running to keep their seats, two- and three-year terms, respectively; and as of this printing face no challengers.
On the Bristol Elementary School Board, incumbents Chris Scrodin and Sheryl Thurber are both vying for new one-year terms. Incumbent Kelly Laliberte is not running for re-election, and Krista Siringo has taken out a petition to fill the seat.
On the Mount Abraham Union High School board, Kris Pearsall is running for another three-year term.
There are not yet any contested races for any of Bristol’s elected municipal posts, and there are also no vacant offices. Town Clerk and Treasurer Jen Myers, who was appointed to those positions after former clerk Therese Kirby was hired as town administrator last summer, is hoping to be elected clerk and treasurer, which are separate offices. She faces no challengers.
Lincoln is still looking for selectboard candidates. Three of the five selectboard seats are up for election — a three-year seat held by Barbara Rainville and two one-year seats, presently held by Will Sipsey and Paul Forlenza.
Forlenza has filed paperwork to run for the three-year seat. Rainville told the Independent she will not seek re-election.
At the Lincoln Community School, incumbent board members Christie Sumner and Ari Kirshenbaum are vying for new terms of two and three years, respectively. Lincoln has two seats on the high school board. Barry Olson’s seat is up for re-election, and he hopes voters pick him for another three-year term.
Lincoln also needs a new auditor, after incumbent Jill Fraga announced she is not running again. There are not yet any contested races for any town offices, though Town Clerk Sally Ober said there will likely be one for one of the two constable posts.
Starksboro will see a race for a three-year term on the Robinson Elementary School board. Incumbent Bonita Bedard is vying for re-election, and Nancy Cornell is also running for that spot.
Starksboro has just three selectboard seats, and one of them is up this year. Incumbent Susan Jeffries hopes voters will tap her for another three-year term.
No one has stepped forward to fill a Starksboro vacancy on the Mount Abraham school board. Starksboro also has vacancies for auditor and first grand juror, and there are not yet any contested races for town offices.
In New Haven, two seats are up for election on the selectboard. Charlie Roy is running for another three-year term, while Steve Dupois has filed papers to run for a two-year seat being vacated by Roger Boise. 
On the Beeman Elementary School board, Brad Bull is running for another three-year term. The seat held by Phyllis Smith is up for a two-year term. She was appointed to the vacant seat. As of Monday afternoon, Smith had not filed paperwork to run again.
Both of New Haven’s two seats on the high school board are up for election. Amanda Bolduc is vying for another two-year term, but no one has filed papers to run for an open three-year term.
As for the New Haven town posts, there are vacancies for listers, grand juror and town agent. There are not yet any contested races.
There are two selectboard seats up for election in Monkton. Incumbents John McNerney and Stephen Pilcher hope voters again choose them for seats of two and three years, respectively.
On the Monkton Central School board, Marikate Kelly is running for another one-year term, while a second one-year seat is open. Incumbent Jennifer Stanley is running for another three-year term.
Incumbent Shawna Sherwin is running for Monkton’s one Mount Abraham board seat up this cycle; it is a three-year term.
William Joos is running unopposed for clerk and treasurer, while Kenneth Wheeling faces no challengers for town and school moderator. There are two vacancies on the planning commission, plus others for library trustee, grand juror and town agent.
Editor’s note: This story was updated on Jan. 26 to note that Phyllis Smith has not declared her candidacy for Beeman Elementary School Board, and Steve Dupoise has filed to run for New Haven selectboard.

Share this story:

More News
Sports Uncategorized

MAV girls’ lax nets two triumphs

The Mount Abraham-Vergennes cooperative girls’ lacrosse team moved over .500 with a pair o … (read more)

Op/Ed Uncategorized

Hector Vila: The boundaries of education

There is a wide boundary between the teacher and the student, found most profoundly in col … (read more)

Naylor & Breen Uncategorized

Naylor & Breen Request for Proposals

Naylor and Breen 042524 2×4.5 OCCC RFP

Share this story: