Leagues honor Addison County athletes

ADDISON COUNTY — Many local high school athletes earned statewide and league all-star recognition this fall for their efforts in girls’ soccer, field hockey and boys’ soccer.
Named to the Division II girls’ soccer all-state team were Mount Abraham’s Zoe Cassels-Brown, Ernesta McIntosh, Jesse McKean, Juniper Nardiello-Smith and Amy Nault, and Middlebury’s Claire Armstrong and Kelsey Smith. Smith was also named the Lake Division Defensive Player of the Year.
Earning berths on the Vermont Twin-State senior field hockey team were Middlebury’s Baily Ryan and Mount Abe’s Bailey Sherwin.
Named to the Division II boys’ soccer all-state team were two Vergennes players, Dana Ambrose and Jake Dombek.
Three coaches also earned honors: Otter Valley field hockey coach Stacey Edmunds-Brickell was named the Marble Valley League A Division Coach of the Year after the Otters went undefeated in league play, and Mount Abe’s Dustin Corrigan and Middlebury’s Wendy Leeds were chosen as the Lake Division girls’ soccer Co-Coaches of the Year.
Eleven athletes were named to the Lake Division girls’ all-star first team: Claire Armstrong, Annina Hare, Katie Holmes and Kelsey Smith from MUHS; Mount Abe’s Zoe Cassels-Brown, Reed Martin, Ernesta McIntosh, Jesse McKean, Juniper Nardiello-Smith and Amy Nault; and Kareena Vorsteveld from VUHS.
Named to the Lake second team were Faith Isham and Kat Townsend from MUHS; Anna Hauman and Morgan Pratt from Mount Abe; and Olivia Fournier from VUHS.
Earning a spot on the MVL first team was OV’s Lexi Hedding, while her teammates Nora Enright and Jillian Flanders made the MVL second team.
Six area athletes made the Metro Conference field hockey first team: Sara Kelley, Tajah Marsden, Baily Ryan and Alli White from MUHS; and Gabrielle Ryan and Bailey Sherwin from Mount Abe. 
Named to the Metro second team were Lauren Bartlett, Harley Downey-Teachout and Makayla Foster from MUHS; and Danielle Bachand and Ellie Gevry from Mount Abe. 
Tigers Lily Smith and Emma Snyder-White earned honorable mention, as did Eagles Kennady Roy and Ashley Turner.
Three Otters made the MVL field hockey first team: Allison Lowell, Maia Edmunds and Laura Beth Roberts.
Commodores Dana Ambrose and Jake Dombek were joined on the Lake Division boys’ soccer first team by Middlebury’s Drew Barnicle and Mount Abe’s Charlie Meyer.  
Middlebury’s Wilder Perera and Burke Weekes, Mount Abe’s Gus Catlin, and Commodores Liam Godfrey and Liam Hayes were named to the Lake second team.
Honorable mention went to Middlebury’s Nick Wilkerson, Mount Abe’s Nick Catlin and Dylan Weaver, and Commodores Tyler Kepes, Max Ratti-Bicknell and Dylan Raymond.
Otters Ben Lones and Josh Letourneau made the MVL first team, and teammate Colton Leno earned second-team MVL honors.

Share this story:

More News

Bernard D. Kimball, 76, of Middlebury

MIDDLEBURY — Bernard D. Kimball, 76, passed away in Bennington Hospital on Jan. 10, 2023. … (read more)

News Uncategorized

Fresh Air Fund youths returning to county

The Fresh Air Fund, initiated in 1877 to give kids from New York City the opportunity to e … (read more)

Obituaries Uncategorized

Mark A. Nelson of Bristol

BRISTOL — A memorial service for Mark A. Nelson of Bristol will be held 1 p.m. on Saturday … (read more)

Share this story: