Tiger football players honored

MIDDLEBURY — As might be expected, the undefeated Division I champion Middlebury Union High School football team earned more than its share of the league’s postseason honors.
Nine members of the Tigers were named as D-I first-team all-stars, as chosen by Vermont coaches, while many more earned second-team or honorable mention, and Coach Dennis Smith was named the D-I Coach of the Year.
Two Tigers earned double recognition on the first team: Jakob Trautwein made the team both as a fullback and a defensive lineman, while Josh Stearns was named both as a kicker and an inside linebacker.
Also making the first team were center Sam Messenger, quarterback Austin Robinson, running back Cullen Hathaway, defensive end Sam Usilton, and defensive backs Connor Quinn, Sam Smith and Bob Ritter.
Four first-teamers also made appearances in different positions on the D-I second team. Named to the second team were:
Usilton and Stearns on the offensive line, Robinson as a defensive back, and Smith as a running back.
Earning honorable mention were offensive linemen Lucas Plouffe and Holden Yildirim, tight ends Sam Holmes and Josiah Benoit, running back Nick Felkl, Justin Stone as both a punter and defensive end, defensive linemen James Ploof and Sam Killorin, inside linebacker Nick Audet and defensive back Nathan Peck. 

Share this story:

More News

Bernard D. Kimball, 76, of Middlebury

MIDDLEBURY — Bernard D. Kimball, 76, passed away in Bennington Hospital on Jan. 10, 2023. … (read more)

News Uncategorized

Fresh Air Fund youths returning to county

The Fresh Air Fund, initiated in 1877 to give kids from New York City the opportunity to e … (read more)

Obituaries Uncategorized

Mark A. Nelson of Bristol

BRISTOL — A memorial service for Mark A. Nelson of Bristol will be held 1 p.m. on Saturday … (read more)

Share this story: