Six ACSU towns set election slates

Residents Edward Payne and Sue Walker will compete for a two-year term on the selectboard. Incumbent Selectwoman Susan Stocker is unopposed in her bid for a three-year term.
Meanwhile, Chuck Welch, Suzanne Buck and Paul Plouffe are running unopposed for terms of one, two and three years, respectively, on the local school board.
Leonard Barrett is running unopposed for another three-year term as Bridport’s representative on the UD-3 board.
There will be no contested races on the ballot in Cornwall. Incumbent selectboard members Ben Wood and Abi Sessions are running for terms of two and three years, respectively. Kristianne Tolgyesi is unopposed for a two-year term on the Bingham Memorial School board. Tammy Denton will run for a three-year seat formerly held by the late Junius Calitri.
There are no election fireworks in store for Ripton. Incumbent Selectman Richard Collitt is unopposed for a three-year term.
Meanwhile, incumbent Ripton Elementary School board members Willem Jewett and Michael Hussey are not running for re-election. Resident Perry Hanson will run for a two-year term on the school board but the second vacancy will have to be filled through a write-in campaign or by appointment.
Residents Tom Scanlon and Martha Sullivan will vie for a two-year term on the Salisbury selectboard; incumbent Selectman Steve Parkes is stepping down. Incumbent Selectman Jonathan Blake is unopposed in his bid for a three-year term on the board.
In other uncontested races in Salisbury, incumbent Salisbury School Board members Gretchen Huestis and  John Nuceder are running for new terms of two and three years, respectively. Incumbent Laura Lass is seeking another three years representing Salisbury on the UD-3 board.
Howard Campbell and Colin Davis will vie for a two-year term on the Shoreham Planning Commission. It will be the only race on the Shoreham Town Meeting ballot.
Four posts on the town selectboard will be in play on Town Meeting Day, though none of them are contested. Incumbent Selectman Stephen Goodrich is running for a three-year term, while fellow incumbents Paul Saenger and Sanford Witherell Jr. are seeking terms of one year each. And Mark Spitzner is unopposed in seeking the one year left on a term being vacated by Selectwoman Karen Shackett.
Incumbent Shoreham Elementary School board members Ben Cadoret and Bruce Perlow are unopposed for terms of three and two years, respectively. Michelle Patterson is seeking a one-year term on the panel.
Weybridge’s town meeting election ballot is highlighted by contested races for town clerk and treasurer, offices held for more than two decades by Karen Brisson. Brisson resigned last November after admitting to having embezzled money from the town coffers. The extent of the theft is currently being probed by investigators for a case against Brisson that will be prosecuted in federal court.
Bethany Bingham, Scott Wales and Judith Loewer are running for a three-year term as town treasurer. Bingham and Wales will also compete for a three-year term as town clerk.
Meanwhile, incumbent selectboard members Gale Hurd and Alan J. Piper are unopposed for terms of two years and three years, respectively. Incumbent Weybridge Elementary School board member Michele Bayliss is seeking another two-year term, while a write-in campaign or appointment will be needed to fill a three-year term on the board that has no takers.
Reporter John Flowers is at [email protected].

Share this story:

More News

Bernard D. Kimball, 76, of Middlebury

MIDDLEBURY — Bernard D. Kimball, 76, passed away in Bennington Hospital on Jan. 10, 2023. … (read more)

News Uncategorized

Fresh Air Fund youths returning to county

The Fresh Air Fund, initiated in 1877 to give kids from New York City the opportunity to e … (read more)

Obituaries Uncategorized

Mark A. Nelson of Bristol

BRISTOL — A memorial service for Mark A. Nelson of Bristol will be held 1 p.m. on Saturday … (read more)

Share this story: