Eagle runners compete at BFA

ST. ALBANS — The Mount Abraham Union High School girls were ninth and the boys were 11th at the BFA Cross Country Invitational on Saturday at the Hard’ack Recreation Area in St. Albans.
Bakari Olivetti led the Eagle girls by finishing 36th at the 5-kilometer distance, while Chris Carter paced the boys by taking 43rd.
Champlain Valley won both team events, dominating the girls’ race by scoring 22 points to runner-up Burlington’s 70. The Redhawk boys edged Essex, 35-39.
Richford’s Elle Purrier won the girls’ race again, although CVU’s Taylor Spillane hung with her, finishing less than eight seconds back, the closest anyone had come to Purrier this season. CVU’s Nicholas Bouton won the boys’ race.
The top three girls’ finishers and the Eagle varsity runners in the race and their times were:
1. Purrier, Richford, 18:00.28.
2. Spillane, CVU, 18:07.97.
3. Autumn Eastman, CVU, 18:56.67.
36. Bakari Olivetti, MAU, 23:43.05.
41. Natalie May, MAU, 24:15.41.
45. Katie Mayer, MAU, 24:29.58.
48. Julie Rickner, MAU, 24:55.94.
50. Sarah Sodaro, MAU, 25:01.51.
60. Genevieve Chiola, MAU, 26:43.01.
61. Laura Sundstrom, MAU, 26:45.60.
The top three boys’ finishers and the Eagle varsity runners in the race and their times were:
1. Bouton, CVU, 17:23.24.
2. Jesse Earisman, Essex, 17:38.31.
3. Micah Lemmel-Hay, Essex, 17:39.64.
43. Chris Carter, MAU, 19:36.59.
74. Nick Turner, MAU, 23:56.22.
75. Cullen Jemison, MAU, 24:12.77.
76. Matthew Giles, MAU, 24:13.62.
79. Henry Koenig, MAU, 25:56.11.
80. Lyndon Swinton, MAU, 26:35.96.
81. Josh Cousineau, MAU, 26:54.99.

Share this story:

More News

Bernard D. Kimball, 76, of Middlebury

MIDDLEBURY — Bernard D. Kimball, 76, passed away in Bennington Hospital on Jan. 10, 2023. … (read more)

News Uncategorized

Fresh Air Fund youths returning to county

The Fresh Air Fund, initiated in 1877 to give kids from New York City the opportunity to e … (read more)

Obituaries Uncategorized

Mark A. Nelson of Bristol

BRISTOL — A memorial service for Mark A. Nelson of Bristol will be held 1 p.m. on Saturday … (read more)

Share this story: