New faces seeking Bristol-area positions

ADDISON COUNTY — Residents of the five-towns area of northeast Addison County could see a few new faces in town government this spring given a number of races that will appear on the Town Meeting Day ballot.
According to the town clerks in Bristol, New Haven, Lincoln, Monkton and Starksboro, a few spots will be changing hands, and even fewer of those races will be contested.
In Bristol, Alan Huizenga is running unopposed for the renewal of his three-year term on the selectboard, while incumbent John “Peeker” Heffernan faces a challenge from John Moyers for a two-year seat.
A number of Bristol school board positions will be up for re-election, including that of Garland “Chico” Martin, who is running, unopposed, for a three-year term on the Bristol Elementary School board. Incumbents Karl Ginalski and Elin Melchior will be challenged for their two-year seats by R.E. “Dick” Merrill and Kris Perlee. Additionally, Bristol’s Mount Abe School Director Gary Farnsworth faces a challenge from Abby Degraw for a three-year term.
According to Bristol Town Clerk Therese Kirby, all other town positions are uncontested this year.
In Lincoln, David Marsters, long-time Lincoln moderator and school district meeting moderator, will be stepping down from both positions. Will Sipsey is running unopposed for both those spots.
Incumbent Selectman Alan Isham is running unopposed for his three-year selectboard seat.
Also in Lincoln, current school board member Marian Bouchard will not be running for reelection, and Jen Oldham is running unopposed for that spot, according to Lincoln Town Clerk Sally Ober.
New Haven
New Haven is scrambling to find someone to run for Kirsten Pitts’ three-year Beeman Elementary School director spot, but as of Monday’s filing deadline, no one had come forward. All those running for New Haven seats are unopposed, and mostly incumbents, though Deirdre Quinn has decided to run for one of two library trustee spots along with incumbent Ruth Penfield. Kim C. Farnham is also running for lister for the first time, a position previously held by Michelle Litch. 
Charles Roy running to replace the retiring Patrick Pawkett on the New Haven selectboard, and Earl Basset has put his name forth for Town Agent, a position formerly held by Tim Bouton.
In Starksboro, only one town seat will see any competition — incumbent Bonita Bedard will face challenger David F. Gratton for Starksboro’s spot on the Mount Abe School board. All others will be running unopposed, including Louis duPont, who will be running for the spot being vacated by John Clark as Robinson Elementary School director.
The Monkton town clerk was unavailable for comment at the time the paper went to print.
Look for more articles previewing town meeting and what will be on the ballots in the coming weeks.
Tamara Hilmes is at [email protected].

Share this story:

No items found
Share this story: