Five towns field contested races

ADDISON COUNTY — Town Meeting Day will bring contested selectboard races in New Haven, Starksboro and Lincoln this year, while most of the other races in the five-town area feature single candidates.
New Haven is fielding one contested race for the selectboard this year: Incumbent Kathleen Ready is running against challenger Michael Dunbar for a two-year position on the board.
Meanwhile, Selectman Pat Paquette is running unopposed for a one-year term on the selectboard. Kathleen Barrett, who was appointed to fill Keith Hall’s seat on the selectboard in December after Hall resigned because of health issues, is also up for election, and is running unopposed for a three-year seat.
There will be no elections for the town’s planning commission, to which members are appointed.
Marie Jewett will be running unopposed for a three-year term on the Beeman School board, on which Jewett currently serves.
Ann Perkins is running unopposed for a three-year term as auditor, and Angie Dunbar is running for a one-year position as auditor after being appointed to the position this year.
In Lincoln, the ballot is full: There’s at least one person running for every position up for vote this year.
The only race that is contested, though, is for a three-year spot on the selectboard. The position was formerly held by Donovan Mayo, who died in the fall. Ethan Ready was appointed to serve the remainder of Mayo’s term, but has chosen not to run for reelection.
Three other candidates, though, have stepped up to the plate. Jim Adams, Elwin Isham and Brian Goodro are in the running for the position. (A story on the three candidates will appear in a future edition of the Independent.)
In other elections in Lincoln, three people are running unopposed for seats on the school board. Incumbents Donnie Sargent and Tim Brokaw are running for three-year and two-year spots, respectively. Marian Bouchard is running to serve the one year remaining on a three-year term. Bouchard was appointed to fill the seat left by Scott Bernoudy when Bernoudy moved out of town earlier this year.
In another notable race, Wilbert Clark Jr. is running to assume the position of town constable, which was held previously by Art Pixley for more than 20 years. Pixley, the town’s first and only constable, has decided not to run for re-election.
In Starksboro, Selectman Alice Dubenetsky is vacating her three-year seat on the board, and two new candidates have thrown their hats into the ring: Mathew Norris and Peter Ryersbach (see related story).
In addition to the selectboard race, incumbent Daniel Baker and challenger Jason Barnard will be vying for a three-year seat on the planning commission.
Incumbent Dennis Hysko is running unopposed for a three-year term on the Robinson Elementary School board, and incumbent Bob Hall is running unopposed for another three-year stint on the Mount Abraham Union High School board.
Meanwhile, in Monkton, a number of candidates’ names will appear on the ballot this year. Incumbents Peter Norris Sr. and John Phillips will be running for three-year and two-year seats, respectively, on the selectboard. Norris and Phillips are running unopposed.
The race for planning commission seats, however, is crowded: Five Monkton residents are vying for four three-year spots on the commission. Incumbent Sam Burr is joined by newcomers Peter Close, Lee Mahony, Donald Gould and Jordan Jiskra in the race. The four candidates who receive the most votes will earn seats on the commission.
Candidates for the Monkton Central School board of directors also face competition. Robert Radler is running unopposed for a three-year seat on the board, but five candidates — Holly Acker, John Kelliher, Amy Moody, Terry Cunningham and Robert Dinapoli — are vying for two one-year seats on the board.
Races for public office will be relatively uneventful in Bristol this year. Two selectmen — Carol Wells and Sharon Compagna — are running unopposed for reelection to their seats.
A seat on the library board is also up for election, but no one in Bristol had filed a petition indicating an intention to run for the seat by the filing deadline.
In elections for the Bristol Elementary School board, incumbent Steve Barsalou is running unopposed for his three-year seat. Incumbents Elin Melchior and Carl Ginalski are running for two one-year positions on the board, and are being opposed by R.E. “Dick” Merill, a member of the Mount Abraham Union High School board. Whichever two of the three candidates earn the most votes will win the two seats.
Incumbents Bob Donnis and Brian Fox are running unopposed for their three-year seats on the Mount Abe board.

Share this story:

No items found
Share this story: