Login
Skip to content

Category: OpinionSyndicate content

  • strict warning: Non-static method view::load() should not be called statically in /home/addison/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/views.module on line 1118.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_handler_field::query() should be compatible with views_handler::query($group_by = false) in /home/addison/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/handlers/views_handler_field.inc on line 1148.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_handler_field_user::init() should be compatible with views_handler_field::init(&$view, $options) in /home/addison/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/modules/user/views_handler_field_user.inc on line 50.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_handler_argument::options_validate() should be compatible with views_handler::options_validate($form, &$form_state) in /home/addison/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/handlers/views_handler_argument.inc on line 917.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_handler_argument::query() should be compatible with views_handler::query($group_by = false) in /home/addison/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/handlers/views_handler_argument.inc on line 917.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_handler_sort::options_validate() should be compatible with views_handler::options_validate($form, &$form_state) in /home/addison/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/handlers/views_handler_sort.inc on line 165.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_handler_sort::options_submit() should be compatible with views_handler::options_submit($form, &$form_state) in /home/addison/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/handlers/views_handler_sort.inc on line 165.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_handler_sort::query() should be compatible with views_handler::query($group_by = false) in /home/addison/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/handlers/views_handler_sort.inc on line 165.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_handler_filter::options_validate() should be compatible with views_handler::options_validate($form, &$form_state) in /home/addison/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/handlers/views_handler_filter.inc on line 599.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_handler_filter::query() should be compatible with views_handler::query($group_by = false) in /home/addison/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/handlers/views_handler_filter.inc on line 599.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_handler_filter_node_status::operator_form() should be compatible with views_handler_filter::operator_form(&$form, &$form_state) in /home/addison/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/modules/node/views_handler_filter_node_status.inc on line 15.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_plugin_argument_validate::options_submit() should be compatible with views_plugin::options_submit($form, &$form_state) in /home/addison/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/plugins/views_plugin_argument_validate.inc on line 87.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_plugin_argument_validate_taxonomy_term::options_submit() should be compatible with views_plugin_argument_validate::options_submit(&$form, &$form_state) in /home/addison/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/modules/taxonomy/views_plugin_argument_validate_taxonomy_term.inc on line 165.
  • strict warning: Non-static method view::load() should not be called statically in /home/addison/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/views.module on line 1118.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_plugin_query::options_submit() should be compatible with views_plugin::options_submit($form, &$form_state) in /home/addison/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/plugins/views_plugin_query.inc on line 181.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_plugin_style_default::options() should be compatible with views_object::options() in /home/addison/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/plugins/views_plugin_style_default.inc on line 24.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_plugin_row::options_validate() should be compatible with views_plugin::options_validate(&$form, &$form_state) in /home/addison/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/plugins/views_plugin_row.inc on line 136.
  • strict warning: Non-static method view::load() should not be called statically in /home/addison/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/views.module on line 1118.
  • strict warning: Non-static method views_many_to_one_helper::option_definition() should not be called statically, assuming $this from incompatible context in /home/addison/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/handlers/views_handler_filter_many_to_one.inc on line 25.
  • strict warning: Non-static method views_many_to_one_helper::option_definition() should not be called statically, assuming $this from incompatible context in /home/addison/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/handlers/views_handler_filter_many_to_one.inc on line 25.
  • strict warning: Non-static method view::load() should not be called statically in /home/addison/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/views.module on line 1118.
  • strict warning: Declaration of image_attach_views_handler_field_attached_images::pre_render() should be compatible with views_handler_field::pre_render($values) in /home/addison/public_html/sites/all/modules/image/contrib/image_attach/image_attach_views_handler_field_attached_images.inc on line 112.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_handler_area::query() should be compatible with views_handler::query($group_by = false) in /home/addison/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/handlers/views_handler_area.inc on line 81.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_handler_area_text::options_submit() should be compatible with views_handler::options_submit($form, &$form_state) in /home/addison/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/handlers/views_handler_area_text.inc on line 121.
  • strict warning: Non-static method view::load() should not be called statically in /home/addison/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/views.module on line 1118.
  • strict warning: Non-static method views_many_to_one_helper::option_definition() should not be called statically, assuming $this from incompatible context in /home/addison/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/handlers/views_handler_filter_many_to_one.inc on line 25.
  • strict warning: Non-static method views_many_to_one_helper::option_definition() should not be called statically, assuming $this from incompatible context in /home/addison/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/handlers/views_handler_filter_many_to_one.inc on line 25.

Clippings: Haunting memories of 9-11 beckon

Posted on September 17, 2015 |
By Lee J. Kahrs



Anyone who can’t claim native Vermonter status came here from for a reason. I came here in October 2002 after living through the September 11, 2001, terrorist attacks in New York City.

I wasn’t in the towers, and I wasn’t downtown, but I was in Manhattan that bluebird morning, stranded for hours trying to get back to my apartment in Brooklyn. After finding a working phone and letting my parents know I was OK, I walked south from midtown. All subway service had stopped. The closest I got to the Twin Towers was 41st Street.

The full text of this article is only available to online subscribers.

Are you an online subscriber? Click to login.

Click here to learn more about our subscription options.

If you have a print subscription, you can now add an online subscription at no additional charge! Just email us with your name and mailing address to set it up.

full story

Eric Davis: Analytics are vital in sports and politics

Posted on September 17, 2015 |
By Eric Davis



Most televised sports broadcasts feature advertisements for Fan Duel and Draft Kings, online sites offering daily and weekly fantasy games in football, baseball and other sports. Fantasy sports sites are exempt from prohibitions on online gambling. Federal law treats them as games of skill, not games of chance.

Sports columnists who have written about online fantasy sports say the skills needed to win are not those of everyday fans, but advanced analytics and algorithms — skills taught to MBA students, and to Ph.D. students in economics and mathematics.

The full text of this article is only available to online subscribers.

Are you an online subscriber? Click to login.

Click here to learn more about our subscription options.

If you have a print subscription, you can now add an online subscription at no additional charge! Just email us with your name and mailing address to set it up.

full story

Gregory Dennis: Bernie's Vermont vs. Hilary, Round 2

Posted on September 17, 2015 |
By Gregory Dennis



Does Bernie Sanders stand any chance of being elected president?

When I wrote here a couple weeks ago that he does not — and that Hillary Clinton will be the next president — I heard from many of my liberal friends who were dismayed by that prediction.

Didn’t I know that Sanders is leading some polls in New Hampshire and Iowa? Hadn’t I heard that even a lot of liberals don’t like or trust Clinton? And whose side was I on, anyway?

The full text of this article is only available to online subscribers.

Are you an online subscriber? Click to login.

Click here to learn more about our subscription options.

If you have a print subscription, you can now add an online subscription at no additional charge! Just email us with your name and mailing address to set it up.

full story

Opinion: Farmers should talk to neighbors

Posted on September 17, 2015 |
By Barry Estabrook



I worry that Vermont’s industrial-scale dairy farmers (“Manure pit sparks debate in town and beyond,” Sept. 7) will reap a bitter harvest if they don’t exercise the simple, old-fashioned neighborliness that has always been a hallmark of life in rural Vermont.

The full text of this article is only available to online subscribers.

Are you an online subscriber? Click to login.

Click here to learn more about our subscription options.

If you have a print subscription, you can now add an online subscription at no additional charge! Just email us with your name and mailing address to set it up.

full story

Opinion: At 50, racing bikes; at 70, teetering in the airport

Posted on September 17, 2015 |
By Henry Wilmer



This week’s writer is Lincoln resident Henry Wilmer, 70, who is a retired schoolteacher and former member of the Lincoln School Board.

In the airport the other day I saw an old man doddering toward terminal D and clearly hoping that a golf cart taxi would come by soon. His steps were so tentative I wondered if he was afraid of tripping on the floor joints. He was bent like a tree shaped by a longtime prevailing wind. Any empathy I might have had lay well hidden behind a silent reproach: He should have kept himself in better shape.

The full text of this article is only available to online subscribers.

Are you an online subscriber? Click to login.

Click here to learn more about our subscription options.

If you have a print subscription, you can now add an online subscription at no additional charge! Just email us with your name and mailing address to set it up.

full story

Opinion: ANeSU leader's absence is noted

Posted on September 17, 2015 |
By Eric Hanson



Regarding the recent article on the proposed mediation for the Addison Northeast Supervisory Union (ANeSU), I feel that I need some clarification.

In the article it was stated that Superintendent David Adams could not be reached for comment because he was on vacation. This during what is arguably the most important time during the school year, when teachers, staff, students and parents are all getting their feet on the ground for the new school year. Seriously?

The full text of this article is only available to online subscribers.

Are you an online subscriber? Click to login.

Click here to learn more about our subscription options.

If you have a print subscription, you can now add an online subscription at no additional charge! Just email us with your name and mailing address to set it up.

full story

Opinion: D.O. program is a proven 'gem'

Posted on September 17, 2015 |
By Jean Fifield



I am writing in support of definitely continuing the Diversified Occupations program at Hannaford Career Center.

I am in total agreement with Peter Ryersbach and Clifford Bell that the D.O. program has been very successful in educating students, involving the community and using appropriate tools to further student success. This program is a “gem.” It has produced many successful, happy, motivated students who are now working and living in our community and are considered a valuable part of it.

The full text of this article is only available to online subscribers.

Are you an online subscriber? Click to login.

Click here to learn more about our subscription options.

If you have a print subscription, you can now add an online subscription at no additional charge! Just email us with your name and mailing address to set it up.

full story

Opinion: County in critical need of more guardians

Posted on September 14, 2015 |
By Tony Krulikowski



Addison County is a wonderful place to live and raise children. However, some families do not always have the resources and support they need, and children end up in the state’s custody for a variety of reasons.

The full text of this article is only available to online subscribers.

Are you an online subscriber? Click to login.

Click here to learn more about our subscription options.

If you have a print subscription, you can now add an online subscription at no additional charge! Just email us with your name and mailing address to set it up.

full story

Opinion: Act of kindness was very inspiring

Posted on September 14, 2015 |
By Steve Koch



Last Sunday afternoon we were out sailing on Lake Champlain. We got a little too close to a shallow area south of Fields Bay and before completing a tack (away from shore), we slowly hit the muddy bottom. We were in no danger but were stuck.

My crew and I set out to extract ourselves by using our dinghy and an anchor to “kedge” off, but before long a powerboat with two persons aboard offered their assistance. In no time they pulled us off into deeper water.

The full text of this article is only available to online subscribers.

Are you an online subscriber? Click to login.

Click here to learn more about our subscription options.

If you have a print subscription, you can now add an online subscription at no additional charge! Just email us with your name and mailing address to set it up.

full story

Opinion: Store plans 'sunflower trade' day

Posted on September 14, 2015 |
By Teresa Glidden



The Addison Four Corners store is offering a “ sunflower trade” day on Saturday, Sept. 19. Bring in four sunflowers in trade for a breakfast sandwich.

For each sunflower we receive we will donate $2 to the Knights of Columbus Christian Refugee Relief Fund. Please help us to help others that are being persecuted for their choice of faith. Christianity is being forced to retreat and give ground to terrorists, while our government doesn’t make a peep about it. Is that because of the election campaigns?

The full text of this article is only available to online subscribers.

Are you an online subscriber? Click to login.

Click here to learn more about our subscription options.

If you have a print subscription, you can now add an online subscription at no additional charge! Just email us with your name and mailing address to set it up.

full story

Addy Indy News Digest

The latest in Addison County news, every Monday and Thursday.

Connect with us

Comments

Comment Here